Lentil and Smoked Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This was a very good soup, thank you. I used spicy smoked sausage, lots more garlic, and a combination of kale and collards since I didn’t have cabbage. I also added a bit of hot pepper. The soup was even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gretna, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Very yummy. Loved the spicy snappy flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I have made this a couple of times with a few minor changes and have really enjoyed it. I leave out the onion because I don't like them. Also, I use turkey smoke sausage and extra cabbage, along with 2 extra cups of chicken broth. Last night I used Rotel instead of plain diced tomatoes to give it a little more spice. It was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belmont, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Best Lentil soup I ever made. I doubled the recipe but went heavier on the lentils using the whole 16 oz bag and used beef polska sausage with beef boullion instead of the vegetable cubes. I froze the leftovers and it was even better the second time around for lunch at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
The spices were spot on! In my case I used real andouille sausage rather than vegetarian ones, so I added them right at the beginning with the onions. This is even better if you overcook it a little so that the lentils are falling-apart-tender. The initial stage of frying in olive oil and the addition of cabbage make this soup special. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Good flavor. Since I'm not a vegetarian, I used Hillshire Farm Beef Smoked Sausage which I had on hand. The sausage should be listed by the lb, not quantity. I had to double the recipe and not knowing what 2 sausages were, used a package (1 lb) of sausage. If I make this again, I will used about 2 lbs for a doubled recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
This was very good. Very Very Good. I would reduce the amount of cayenne pepper but that is just me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wauconda, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DHANO923
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I thought it was good but the kids didn't enjoy it every much, and they normally like lentils. I used smoked turkey sausage instead of vegetarian sausage, and added about 1.5 cups shredded cabbage as I wanted to bulk up the veggie content for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
I tossed everything but the (turkey) sausage, onions and garlic in the pressure cooker for 20 minutes. Then sautéed the sausage, onions and garlic and tossed in the mix. Came out great and quick. Served with the country white bread recipe on this site. I did omit the oil put in half broth and was generous on the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2 Redheads

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I recieved this soup in a dinner exchange and just loved it! It freezes well, and cooks just fine when tossed in the crockpot. I added just 4 cups of chicken broth, but that wasn't enough liquid to make it into a soup. It was salty enough (though my husband liked it), so next time, I'll probably add another 2 cups of water. I also cheated and used the coleslaw mix. Us young mothers have to fake it till we make it. (can't make the stars work: this is a 5 star for sure)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Miner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States