Lentil and Smoked Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I felt obligated to write a review for this. It was really good! I made it two weeks ago and my boyfriend has "mentioned" it 3 or 4 times since so I'm making it again tonight. First time I used turkey sausage; this time we're going to try the tofurkey sausage. I like to use a half a head of cabbage shredded and two cans of tomatoes. I think diced potatoes might be good in it too..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manson, Iowa, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Yummy recipe. I followed another reviwer's advice and din't saute anything (so didn't need the oil) and threw it all in the slow cooker. I used a smoked turkey sausage, because that's what I had. Thanks for a great and healthy post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
One of my favorites. I do, however, make some adjustments: I use turkey sausage instead. It is helpful to just use cole slaw mix instead of shredding the cabbage. I put in about 2 cups of this. I like mine spicy, so I add 2 teaspoons of cayenne. Also, I found that there needs to be more water, so I put in about 6 cups. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I made this for a group of 10. I also wanted to have enough leftover to last for several days so quadrupled the recipe. The guests liked it and there was enough left over to last us probably most of the week. I'm trying to be healthy so we cut the olive oil in half and used low sodium veggie-based soup broth instead of bouillon and "no-salt added diced tomatoes". I doubled the garlic and cabbage and cut the cayenne pepper to 1/4 of the amount recommended in the recipe. I thought the soup was still quite spicy, but that could be partially because I used Mexican Chipotle flavored veggie sausage links made by the Field Roast company. If I had to do it again I would probably cut the amount of Field Roast sausage and increase the lentils, since the crumbled sausage was the dominant flavor and texture. I also used fresh thyme instead of dried. I like lots of spices since I use little or no salt when I cook and this soup had lots of good flavor. I will probably make it again, but try a different flavor of veggie sausages.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Excellent hearty soup. I also made a couple changes. I subbed in 6 cups of chicken stock and used a pound of Andouille Sausage. Really awesome! I would recommend cutting down the cayenne to 1/4 tsp or maybe 1/8 or eliminate it altogether. My wife and I thought the 1/4 was perfect, but it was still a little too much for our spice sensitive children. They ate it, but every bite was followed by a gulp of milk. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
My family really enjoyed this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Wow! Intensely delicious and healthy! I used 2 spicy italian sausages instead, and omitted the cayenne as my husband doesn't do well with really spicy food. Skip the oil - just throw it all in the pot. Lentils burned a bit when I initially cooked them so I gave up on that step, dumped in the rest of the ingredients and let it simmer for a while. Came out great! After having a bowl I also decided I liked the tomatoes and there weren't enough in, so I added the rest of my 28oz can. Also used chicken oxo instead of veggie bouillon, and used 6 cups of water instead of 4. I think this was necessary because I used more cabbage than was called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Yummy! This came out wonderfully! I used 1 (14 ounce) smoked sausage, without MSG, gluten or added nitrites. 1.5 cup of cabbage. 2 cubes of vegetable bouillon (I like Rapunzel Vegan with Sea Salt & Herbs because ingredients are organic & non-hydrogenated). 5 cups of water. 2 bay leaves. Everything else is the same as the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This soup is simply delicious! To all you non-vegetarians out there, don't be afraid of the soy sausage-- the texture is really smooth, making it the perfect ingredient for soup. On their own, soy sausages can be hard to love, but here, they're heavenly. Trust me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This is delicious. I used itilian and chili seasoned tomatoes. I added red pepper flakes and a hint of hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Lentil Soup

See how to put a Hungarian twist on comforting lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States