Lentil and Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Just made this recipe and it turned out awesome. I left out the onions and tomatoes due my sister-in-law's allergies and added extra garlic and celery. I also doubled the amount of sausage. I used 1/4 tsp. of red pepper instead of black pepper and it gave it just the right amount of heat. I also tossed in some fresh spinach I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
It's good, but needs more meat & spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Made exactly as specified in the recipe except for the pasta. My wife and I both thought it on the bland side and felt the 8 cups of water made it, well, kind of watery. If I were to make it again, I'd add more sausage and maybe some hot chili paste along with using the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
We loved it. I omitted pasta but still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Buchanan, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Good, but I prefer a little more bite to my soups...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I used jalapeno cheddar deer smokies instead of the Italian sausage and it turned out really well. I also used canned lentils instead of dry and just added them near the end of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
TTis recipe was excellent! I used turkey sausage as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Made this tonight for dinner, and it was pretty good. Not the best soup I've ever had, but definitely worth making again. I did turkey italian sausage, and had soaked my lentils overnight, so I only used about 1/2 the water called for. I did beef broth instead of chicken because that's what I had on hand, but other than that, I followed recipe ingredients. I cooked for 1 hr, and then after we ate I decided to let the leftovers cook another 45 minutes to see if the lentils would soften up anymore, but they stayed at about the same texture (which is semi-soft; they were a brownish green color) so I think that must be about as soft as they get, which I liked; DH would've liked a little softer. Other than that, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
Loved this recipe... Reminds me of my grandmas recipe... I only made half of it but didn't half all the ingredients exactly to keep the taste I wanted. Yet it was still enough for two with leftovers for another person or two... I served it with white rice like my grandma used to... M m m
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
First off, 2-3 hours is too long. I loosely followed this recipe and it was done in half the time while holding some of the liquid so it wasn't mush. I didn't have the Italian seasonings so I used Rosemary and Turmeric instead and it came out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 333) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States