Lentil and Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
This was delicious with a few changes. I added chopped kale at the end of the cooking process. doubled carrots, garlic and celery. diced the carrot instead shredding. and used 8 cups of homemade chicken stock and 2 cups of water. Also added orzo pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSICASRECIPES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Excellent! Followed recipe almost exactly. Didn't have bay leaves, but this recipe was great! Instead of adding the pasta, I added 1/4 cup of barley. Delicious. I also used 1 lb. of chicken sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Fantastic. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HillaryB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Avondale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Excellent! Used what we had on hand: hot sausage, chicken bioullion instead of water and broth, no celery or carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
We love, love, love this soup! I have shared the recipe with so many people who have tasted the soup when I have made it! Thank you so much for sharing. We do like our meals with a little spice, so I do add some cayenne pepper and red pepper flakes. I also double the veggies (like the carrots, celery and onion). Instead of 8 cups of water, I usually use 4 cans of chicken broth for flavor. You could also add some fresh spinach if you like. AND, the trick is - you can let this soup cook on low all day long if you would like, but don't add the lentils until about 30-40 minutes before you want to serve it (that way, all the flavors come out and you don't wind up with mushy lentils). I usually serve with garlic bread, so I omit the ditalini. The leftover soup also freezes really well, we usually get 2-3 meals out of one big pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TCooper1182

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Wow, is this soup delicious! I used this recipe as the basis and did my own thing from there. I used chicken sausage, omitted the carrots as I didn't have any, added about 1/2 a chopped sweet red pepper, 8 - 10 cloves of garlic (omitting the garlic powder), also added about 1/2 C red wine, doubled the broth, and used only fresh herbs also adding sage. I used whole wheat orzo. This is a thick hearty soup in spite of the added broth. My kind of soup on a cool autumn evening. It only needs a small tossed green salad and some good crusty french bread! YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grammak

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hope, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Very very good and tastes a lot like Carrabba's sausage and lentil soup. Instead of using a 1/2 pound of Sweet Italian sausage, I used a quarter and added a quarter of a pound of kielbasa. Instead of chicken broth I used beef broth. I cooked the soup on medium high for an hour, covered and it was perfect! No need to cook it for 3 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
my husband loved this soup so much that he ate 2 1/2 bowls full! i didn't have any lentils since this was not a planned dinner so i used black eyed peas. DELISH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
I add more sausage. It's great topped with lemon juice and grated Parmesan cheese, or topped with sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joni
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
This soup is spectacular! Huge favorite. I've made it twice in 2 weeks. In the summer. In Phoenix! It's THAT good. I tend to overcook mine so it's a little mushy or more like a pea soup texture, which I like. I've also used black lentils with pink lentils for a different texture. I also leave out the pasta. I'm sure it actually adds to the glory, but I can't eat it. The secret is in the seasonings. The author of this recipe is genius and I applaud them! Thank you for making a healthy soup that is easy to make and great tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States