Lentil and Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
Flavorful, hearty, and healthy. Great recipe just as written. Second time I made this I doubled the sausage to 1 pound, substituted more of the chicken broth instead of water, added a pinch more of each seasoning except for the salt which I left out completely. Also added an extra 2 cups chicken broth (hence the tad more spices). Lots you could do with this, but again, the recipe as written is excellent! Thank you. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
This is a very good and hearty soup. I used regular sausage because I'm allergic to one of the spices in Italian sausage. Also, I sweated the veggies before adding: Saute onion, celery and carrots in a little olive oil for about 10 to 15 minutes. Add the garlic to the last 3 minutes. Some hints about lentils: 1) Use low/no salt broth and don't add salt while the lentils cook. Salt prevents lentils from getting soft. 2) Yellow, red and orange lentils get mushy when boiled while brown and green lentils stay a bit firmer. To help prevent mushiness, toast the lentils for about 10 minutes before adding to the pot (being careful not to burn them). Or saute them with the veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
I made this soup this evening, I used red lentils and followed the directions..lentils turned to "mush" however, the soup overall was very hearty and tasty. I quit cooking it after almost two hours due to the lentils falling apart..still tasted very good...if anyone has any suggestions on how I could have kept the lentils from falling apart please let me know or is that just a characteristic of red lentils...thanks.. hey this would have been good with a big piece of toasted french bread and some parmesan cheese on top..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
Really good! A great general recipe for modifying. Tweaked considerably by: doubling the sausage, adding 1/4 tsp fennel seed, using half the lentils, using stewed tomatoes, adding potatos, and adding some heavy whipping cream. Also, we made rice on the side and mixed it in when plating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
Made this recipe as is (as I usually do first time trying any recipe) and it came out perfect. This soup is delicious as a whole meal. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaSuga

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
Very good - used about 8 cups of homemade vegetable stock. Nice change for us. Will keep as an easy, winter crockpot meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
Wow...tastes as close to Carrabba's as could be! Yummy....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
I use this recipe as a base but had to tweak it for lack of ingredients. It still turned out delicious! Used beef broth instead of chicken and black beans in place of lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Absolutely delicious! Even my 7-year-old loved this and took leftovers in his thermos to school! The only thing I changed was to add shredded chicken with the sausage. So delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Great recipe ! I used chicken Italian sausage to reduce the fat , and reduced the salt also. Delicious !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 356) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States