Lentil and Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
I made this soup this evening, I used red lentils and followed the directions..lentils turned to "mush" however, the soup overall was very hearty and tasty. I quit cooking it after almost two hours due to the lentils falling apart..still tasted very good...if anyone has any suggestions on how I could have kept the lentils from falling apart please let me know or is that just a characteristic of red lentils...thanks.. hey this would have been good with a big piece of toasted french bread and some parmesan cheese on top..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
Really good! A great general recipe for modifying. Tweaked considerably by: doubling the sausage, adding 1/4 tsp fennel seed, using half the lentils, using stewed tomatoes, adding potatos, and adding some heavy whipping cream. Also, we made rice on the side and mixed it in when plating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
Made this recipe as is (as I usually do first time trying any recipe) and it came out perfect. This soup is delicious as a whole meal. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaSuga

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
Very good - used about 8 cups of homemade vegetable stock. Nice change for us. Will keep as an easy, winter crockpot meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
Wow...tastes as close to Carrabba's as could be! Yummy....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
I use this recipe as a base but had to tweak it for lack of ingredients. It still turned out delicious! Used beef broth instead of chicken and black beans in place of lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Absolutely delicious! Even my 7-year-old loved this and took leftovers in his thermos to school! The only thing I changed was to add shredded chicken with the sausage. So delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Great recipe ! I used chicken Italian sausage to reduce the fat , and reduced the salt also. Delicious !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Just made this soup. Doubled the recipe to give a batch to a sick friend. Careful, halfway through I had to split into two pots because it makes so much. Tastes fantastic. I always add extra amounts of veggies, so I did. Full of flavor. Happy I chose this one to give away. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
I made this tonight, and didn't have carrots, so substituted fennel for them. I diced it up so that it wasn't chunky. The recipe made about 17 cups of soup, and tasted very good. The only other change I made, because I didn't have chicken broth, was to use Better Than Bouillon. Better Than Bouillon is fairly salty, so I left out the salt and only used 2 teaspoons of the Better Than Bouillon for the entire pot of soup. I recommend this soup! It will feed the 3 of us 3 meals, which was an added bonus to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 354) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States