Lentil and Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2003
Wonderful soup! The flavour is excellent. I usually just use whatever type of sausage I have on hand. I've also made it without the sausage and it's still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2004
This soup is so tasty! I used low-sodium chicken broth and omitted the salt based on other peoples advice. I also only put in about 3/4 the lentils since I dislike lentils. This is the first lentil soup I have liked so I will definately make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenwee99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
This soup is OUTSTANDING!!! We just made this tonight and it tasted just like "carabas" spicy sausage and lentil soup, except of course it wasn't spicy. Only changes we made was that we used mild italian sausage other than sweet, added a bit more salt to taste, added a can of spinach towards the end of cooking and instead of cooking it for 2 to 3 hours, we used our pressure cooker and it was done in less than 30 minutes! A very good looking sopu, a meal within itself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Romeoville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
Yum,Yum.This is an excellent recipe. I substituted hot italian sausage & it kicked it up a bit (nice & spicy) just like Carrabba's soup. It's a wonderful , hearty meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Young Harris, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
This is a really great recipe that was easy to work with. I added yellow split pea with the lentils and instead of diced tomatoes I used tomato paste. The soup is absolutely delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
I added a can of corn and my hubby actually said it was just as good as the soup his mother used to make...it doesn't get any better than that!! Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
Excellant.. Been looking for a recipe for Sausage Lentil soup like they serve at Carrabba's. This is real close. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
This soup turned out fantastic! It's almost exactly like Carabba's lentil & sausage soup. To kick it up I added about 1/4 tsp. of red pepper flakes and it spiced it up like the restaurant version. Will definitely pass on this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lorain, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
This was a very good recipe. The only changes I made were 1. salt to taste since others said it was too salty, 2. used 2 ribs of celery (instead of one), 3. used twice as much italian sausage (and used hot instead of sweet), 4. cut out the water and used chicken stock exclusively, 5. used crushed tomatoes with italian seasonings instead of diced, 6. cut up a 6 oz. bag of fresh spinach and let it cook along, and 7. added crushed red pepper since we like it spicy. It was very tasty and made a ton! We'll have leftovers for days...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
188 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 346) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States