Lentil and Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
Made in CrockPot. Best soup I have ever made. I substituted Turkey Sausage and doubled it. Also I omited pasta and 2 cups of water. Browned Turkey, Onion, garlic, and celery then put everthing in crockpot except diced tomatoes. Cooked on high for 3 hours. Added tomatos and cooked on low for 4- 5 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
291 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Melrose, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
This was a very good recipe. The only changes I made were 1. salt to taste since others said it was too salty, 2. used 2 ribs of celery (instead of one), 3. used twice as much italian sausage (and used hot instead of sweet), 4. cut out the water and used chicken stock exclusively, 5. used crushed tomatoes with italian seasonings instead of diced, 6. cut up a 6 oz. bag of fresh spinach and let it cook along, and 7. added crushed red pepper since we like it spicy. It was very tasty and made a ton! We'll have leftovers for days...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
181 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
I love the sausage and lentil soup at Carrabb's Grill and always wish I would be able to get the recipe. Well, I thought this came extremely close. I served it with French Bread, huge hit in our home. Next time I will serve it in bread bowls. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
This soup turned out fantastic! It's almost exactly like Carabba's lentil & sausage soup. To kick it up I added about 1/4 tsp. of red pepper flakes and it spiced it up like the restaurant version. Will definitely pass on this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lorain, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
This is one of our favorites. I chop the carrots instead of shred. I also use turkey sausage and nearly double the amt. I also add chopped kale or swiss chard to make it prettier and more nutritious. Excellent soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
My husband really enjoyed this! I cooked it in my crockpot since I was out shopping all day. I used chorizo and andouille sausage which made it spicy. I used 6 c. of water. I used 2 ribs of celery. I used stewed tomatoes and pureed them in the blender. I could have used less salt. I did not add pasta as we are trying to eat lo-carb. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
Very good flavor, lots of veggies that go well with the lentils. I did not dice the carrots, but cut them in rounds. Like some of other reviewers, I only needed to cook this for about one-and-a-half hours (one hour before I added the pasta, then another 30 minutes after). Next time, I might add a little red pepper to spice it up a little, but it was a great flavor, very filling, very hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
This soup is wonderful! I double the amount of sausage and use the hot italian, but that's just a matter of personal preference. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This is a hearty and satisfying “peasant-style” soup – delicious, aromatic and so easy to make with its few, simple ingredients. And for basically just pennies a serving! I prepared this for the Italian New Year tradition to eat lentils and pork sausage for prosperity and good luck for the coming year. I made half a recipe and it made a good-sized pot of soup. I used tomato sauce, put up from my garden, in place of the canned tomatoes. I had to add a fairly significant amount of both water and additional chicken broth while the soup cooked, as it continued to get thicker and thicker. While many additions or changes could be made if one felt compelled to, this can be prepared with confidence just as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2002
This soup was great. It was easy to make and my friends liked it. I used andouille sausage instead because it was what I had on hand. This was fantastic and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 333) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States