Lentil and Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
First off, 2-3 hours is too long. I loosely followed this recipe and it was done in half the time while holding some of the liquid so it wasn't mush. I didn't have the Italian seasonings so I used Rosemary and Turmeric instead and it came out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
Excellent recipe as written! What I have done differently making this soup many more times is this: Bump up sausage to one pound, as sausage is usually sold in one pound units and what else am I to do with the leftover half pound,other than toss it onto some pasta with tomato sauce -that was good too. Same with the pasta, bump that up to a full pound too. Next, I have doubled the quantity of dried herbs, using 2 teaspoons of an Italian blend. Skip the salt, plenty of that already in the sausage. And reduce water to 6 cups and replace with 2 more cups of broth. Make sure to use brown or green lentils. The red and yellow lentils will turn to mush. These changes intensify the flavor, and it becomes more like stew on the soup/stew scale. Slice some Italian bread, spread with soft butter, sprinkle some grated parmasan cheese and a pinch of Italian herbs, place buttered/cheese side down on the griddle and fry until crisp golden brown. Very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
Wow! This was really good! My husband, who is not a fan of legume soups, even thought so. I used hot Italian turkey sausage (had a 20 oz package and used the whole thing). I didn't have any tomatoes, but I threw in an 8 oz can of tomato sauce I did have. Per other reviews, I cut liquids back a little. I used 9 cups of water and chicken bouillon granules (almost 3 Tbsp). Because of the bouillon, there was no need to add the salt called for in the recipe. It was perfect without any added salt (and I'm not shy when it comes to salt). This was my first attempt at lentil soup, and I am thrilled with the results. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
Just made this tonight and the whole family loved it. It was very flavorful and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
Gave it 5 stars even though I made minor changes due to ingredients on hand. Used herbs de provence instead of oregano, thyme and basil. Used polish kielbasa sausage instead of italian and chopped carrots instead of shredding...and more of them. Left out pasta and 2 cups of the water. My hubby said this was the best soup he ever ate in his life! I have to agree! Must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cloud9

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA
Photo by Jayperk
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This is a hearty, flavorful soup that smells wonderful while simmering. I substituted chicken broth for the water and added a tablespoon of tomato paste, a pinch of red pepper flakes, and 1 1/2 teaspoons of Sriracha. I also upped the amount of Italian sweet sausage to 1 lb. Did not add pasta because I wanted more of a soup, rather than stew, consistency. Will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Thought it was good and made me warm on a rainy day. I did what some folks did and used the slow cooker but doubled the sausages.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I made this soup today following the recipe very closely. The only change I made was using turkey sausage. I cooked the soup for 1.5 hrs. The taste and texture was good. I wish it was a little bit more tangy/spicy. I will try making it again using different spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Was Awesome as written. I would give this 10 stars if I could. Any bad reviews given did something wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luis Mona Gonzalez

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lizella, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Not my favorite lentil soup, but it was still very tasty. I used venison sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Coker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 354) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States