Lentil and Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
very tasty... followed exactly as is.... very important to let simmer for 2.5-3 hours for full effect and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Old Bridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Middletown, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
My family loved this. I accidentally used hot sausage instead of sweet sausage. My husband bought it by mistake and my youngest son kept commenting on how the soup was really hot as he wolfed it down. I think I will use the sweet sausage next time, as I don't care for spicy hot so much. I also left out the tomatoes since my oldest does not like them, but am thinking I will add them if there is any soup left over. Also added barley instead of pasta. Trying to cut down on wheat, but I think it would be good either way. This is a soup that is easy to adjust to your own taste and could be changed up a little every time, so it does not get boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clacy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
As I used red lentils, which cook in about 20 minutes, I cut out 2 cups of water and reduced the simmer time to 25 minutes. I also used about 4 cloves fresh garlic, a whole pound of mild Italian sausage and 1 1/2 cups shredded carrots. I ramped up the dry seasonings (except for salt) by 1/4 tsp. and I waited until I turned off the stove to add the fresh parsley. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
This will be one of our regular soups from now on. I'll try it with spicy Italian sausage next time for a change but this version was yummy just as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovestocook25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niagara-On-The-Lake, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
My husband gave this recipe a thumbs up. He really likes the sausage and lentil soup at Carrabba's and always orders it instead of the salad. He said this is as close it could get. I chopped the carrots instead of shredding. Was worried that the tablespoon of salt would be too much, but it wasn't. Did add about 1 teaspoon of red pepper flakes as others suggested and it spiced it up just right. Did cut back on liquid as others suggested and used 8-1/2 cups of all chicken broth, no water used. Didn't add the pasta because it was already a lot of soup for the two of us. Would need the extra liquid if pasta was added. Plenty enough left to freeze for later. We didn't even know we liked lentils. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
This was a keeper. I changed it up a little bit and I would make it again. I used a pound of Johnsonville All Natural Sweet Italian sausage and added a few chili flakes. I used all chicken broth (3 quarts) instead of the broth and water called for and I used 1/2 lb lentils and 1/2 lb lentil wild rice blend from the bulk section at WinCo. Cooked for about 30 - 45 minutes stove top until the lentils were tender and then added the tomatoes. (When cooking lentils and beans adding tomatoes before the lentils are soft keeps them from softening) Then into a large crockpot on low until it was time for dinner. This would be a great dinner to have waiting at home after practice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Read all the reviews and just added kale and used andouille sausage. I did halve the salt and that seemed about right. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Prepared the recipe as it, but halved it and used all chicken broth instead of water and just finely chopped my carrots. Turned out delicious and flavorful! A Perot hearty soul for winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
This soup is awesome! We were 3 days into a snow storm and I was freezer/pantry diving and this fit the bill. I doubled the onions, celery and carrots. I had frozen cooked lentils, I used 6 cups. I used Better than Bouillon, vegetable bouillon not water and chicken stock. I didn't have diced tomatoes, I used 8 oz no salt added tomato sauce and 8 oz salsa. For the spices I used my homemade salt free Mexican seasoning, dried parley for the fresh, and I omitted the salt. I also had a bunch of kale to use up, I added that and cooked the soup for about 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States