Lentil and Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Absolutely delicious! Even my 7-year-old loved this and took leftovers in his thermos to school! The only thing I changed was to add shredded chicken with the sausage. So delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Great recipe ! I used chicken Italian sausage to reduce the fat , and reduced the salt also. Delicious !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Just made this soup. Doubled the recipe to give a batch to a sick friend. Careful, halfway through I had to split into two pots because it makes so much. Tastes fantastic. I always add extra amounts of veggies, so I did. Full of flavor. Happy I chose this one to give away. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
I made this tonight, and didn't have carrots, so substituted fennel for them. I diced it up so that it wasn't chunky. The recipe made about 17 cups of soup, and tasted very good. The only other change I made, because I didn't have chicken broth, was to use Better Than Bouillon. Better Than Bouillon is fairly salty, so I left out the salt and only used 2 teaspoons of the Better Than Bouillon for the entire pot of soup. I recommend this soup! It will feed the 3 of us 3 meals, which was an added bonus to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Yum! I followed the advice of others (Bakingnana) and used the full package of sausage (18-19oz) and all chicken broth (not water). It was a huge hit with my husband and the full house of surprise guests. We will make this soup again & again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Really delicious soup. I didn't bother with fresh parsley, just used dried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raye Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Delicious, satisfying, and leftovers freeze beautifully for those days you don't want to cook. I'd lost a recipe for Lentil Sausage skillet from the Pittsburgh Press in the 80's. This from Allrecipes is the closest, maybe even better! You can adjust liquids to make it somewhere between soup and stew. And keep checking lentil doneness to your taste by dipping in during cooking time, and taking a little bite. The answer to friends' questions is: "No, you don't need to pre-cook lentils, only the sausages for little crispy edges. I cut kielbasa in circles or little chunks. Just rinse lentils first thru strainer. Thanks Allrecipes for great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mindy H.
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Delicious recipe! I added extra broth for flavor and thus omitted added salt. I also added kale. Very good, can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
This soup made my son, who was a reluctant soup eater, an enthusiastic soup eater!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
I put half the Lentils in the recipe and doubled the broth. So delicious and spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber McCoy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 348) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States