Lentil and Green Collard Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Not so good. Therre was way to much lemon flavor and I needed to strain the lentils/onions/collard greens out of the broth and recook them in chick stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Loved this as did my kids. I used less water I also bloomed my spices with the greens. I added a little paprika too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I followed this recipe pretty much exactly and the result is barely edible. There is too much water, and the lemon is overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Holy salty!!! I followed the recipe exactly except I used less lemon (I squeezed the juice of half of a medium lemon) and I sauteed the garlic with the onions. The flavor was really good but it was way, way, waaaay to salty. I had to add another 2 1/2 cups of water to try to dilute it and it was still really salty and I'm saying this as someone who drinks pickle juice (yes, I know it's gross lol) and puts salt on everything, so I'm not sensitive to salt. Besides being too salty, it was really good. My husband and daughters didn't like it but I'll probably try to make it again and use at least half of the salt and maybe add in some carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Delicious! I made a few minor tweaks. For 1/3 of the water I used chicken stock. Added a little celery and leaves. Added turmeric and curry powder. I had scaled for one so I eyeballed the amount. The flavors were great and it was very filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntingdon Valley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Abington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
This was pretty good but it was not good as leftovers!! I think the lemon made the greens bitter after it sat overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
It is awesome my family really enjoyed it. They don't care for collard greens but now I found a taste way they will eat it. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
Pretty good. I subbed swiss chard and skipped the wilting step. Just let it steam when the lentils were finished cooking. Also added the spices to the lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Easy to make and delicious. I sometimes throw some chicken meatballs in there and serve it as a main course
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States