Lentil and Green Collard Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Holy salty!!! I followed the recipe exactly except I used less lemon (I squeezed the juice of half of a medium lemon) and I sauteed the garlic with the onions. The flavor was really good but it was way, way, waaaay to salty. I had to add another 2 1/2 cups of water to try to dilute it and it was still really salty and I'm saying this as someone who drinks pickle juice (yes, I know it's gross lol) and puts salt on everything, so I'm not sensitive to salt. Besides being too salty, it was really good. My husband and daughters didn't like it but I'll probably try to make it again and use at least half of the salt and maybe add in some carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Delicious! I made a few minor tweaks. For 1/3 of the water I used chicken stock. Added a little celery and leaves. Added turmeric and curry powder. I had scaled for one so I eyeballed the amount. The flavors were great and it was very filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntingdon Valley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Abington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
This was pretty good but it was not good as leftovers!! I think the lemon made the greens bitter after it sat overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
It is awesome my family really enjoyed it. They don't care for collard greens but now I found a taste way they will eat it. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
Pretty good. I subbed swiss chard and skipped the wilting step. Just let it steam when the lentils were finished cooking. Also added the spices to the lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Easy to make and delicious. I sometimes throw some chicken meatballs in there and serve it as a main course
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Very tasty. We used green lentils because thats what I had and we added some red pepper flakes for a little spice and some garlic. We also cooked the greens and lentils in organic low sodium chicken broth. It was hardy, healthy and made a great meal with lots of left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abirleffi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
This is delicious and easy to make. It was a nice way to use some fresh collards we had. Only change I made was to cut the salt a bit as we need to watch that. I cooked mine outside on a wood fire using my Envirofit stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chester, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiamia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States