Lentil and Cactus Soup (Mom's Recipe) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Great taste. Made it without the potatoes and added cilantro towards the end for flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Love this recipe! I make a big pot at the beginning of the week and have lunch for days! Very tasty and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Really delicious! The cactus tastes exactly like green beans. I really enjoyed making something so out of the ordinary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Absolutely love this recipe. The only thing that I change is I add more cumin..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dfranks315

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
This soup was delicious. I used yams instead of white potatoes which gave it some better nutrition, color and a little sweetness. I would recommend checking the lentils after 20 minutes, they cooked faster than the hour that was suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Sorry, I thought this was just okay. I tried to make it exactly as written. This recipe used 3 ingredients I'd never used before: jarred nopalitos, dried lentils, and chicken bouillon (granules) - I found the last item (Knorr brand) in the Hispanic section of my grocery store. I wasn't sure if there was some other form of nopales to use; all I could find was jarred "nopalitos", which I didn't cook but just used as-is. The results were probably pretty healthy, but I didn't find it all that exciting, plus I would've liked a lot thicker soup. If I were to make this again, I might cut the water by up to half. For what it's worth, I did share this at a Mexican-themed potluck lunch, and several people said they liked it; and one family took most of the leftover soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
I would have given this a higher rating, except I used fresh cactus fronds. I had to look up how to cook them, and they turned out really mucilaginous. Next time I'll try jarred cactus. The lentils were really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Next time I will add fewer potatoes and more cactus, but I will keep everything else the same!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Everything is fine except the addition of the chicken bouillon. it takes from the taste of the lentils. I like to boil the lentils with salt and then add cilantro onion and tomato and that's it. the measurements/time are perfect though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Great recipe! The lentils and cactus go amazingly well together. I omitted the potatoes since I didn't have any and used more cactus than what the recipe called for (since my partner and I really enjoy it). I also didn't have any chicken bouillon handy so I substituted with some Maggie's Seasoning. When boiling the cactus, I added a couple of dry bay leaves and salt to give it more flavor. I added the cactus to the onions then threw in the tomatoes. And to give this soup an extra kick, I sprinkled some ground cayenne pepper along with the cumin! Turned out great, I will be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pacoima, California, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States