Lentil and Buckwheat Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by AZ
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
I loved this and will definitely make it again. I had trouble finding buckwheat so I used bulghur wheat which is similar. Other than having to adjust the times slightly due to the wheat this recipe was fabulous. The only recommendation that I have is that the water/broth from cooking lentils/legumes can add to the unpleasant after-effects of eating them, so I used fresh vegetable broth instead. Thank you for this recipe - it will be a household standby!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I used cayenne instead of crushed red pepper--not wise on my part, it was too hot! I used oat groats instead of buckwheat groats, and found it to be a pleasant combination--I can't wait to try it with buckwheat! This was quite tasty, and I'll be making this vegetarian meal again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
Wow! This was not only attractive, but delicious. I doubled the garlic, cause we love it. And I didn't us the lemon thyme, cause I don't have any. Otherwise, the same. I think I'll try less oil the next time. But great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
This is good and I'll make it again, mostly for its vitamin and vegetarian benefits. It's not terribly flavorful, but it might get better in the fridge overnight. The only substitution I made was using dried marjoram instead of fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
We really didn't like this one. It was edible but it was missing something. I don't think I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
THis recipe was amazing. Husband loved. The only thing that I changed was adding more regular thyme because I did not have lemon thyme. Thought flavor original and very tasty. Making it again for a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blskny

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
I simplified this recipe by cooking the spices, lentils and carrots together with the veg broth. I didn't have the salt free seasoning so I added a few dashes of basil, sage, marjoram, onion power and garlic powder. I didn't want to deal with draining the lentils and with the carrots cooking with it I couldn't have drained them anyway. I cooked the egg covered buckwheat in water and added it after it was done cooking. It was a delish recipe! My family loved it, even my picky daughter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aspen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Slightly dry but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
I just made this salad and it's a really great source of protein! Plus, it tastes good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
I absolutely loved it! Such an unusual, healthy, and delicious side for almost any main dish! If you find it hard to find buckwheat in a supermarket, you might want to try an ethnic store - they are sure to have in in any Russian grocery (ask for "grechka" if they don't understand "buckwheat").
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Lemon-Basil Quinoa Salad

See just how quick it is to whip up a healthy salad.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States