Lengua (Beef Tongue) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
This is a tasty recipe. Try adjusting the cooking time and substituting with smoked tongue instead. Or better yet, apple wood smoke the tongue yourself. Simply delicious. Added a little fresh thyme, bay leaf, when cooking the tongue. Served the dish over rice, but I expect it would also be good with a side of boiled potatoes or over french fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SB
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This is a great recipe, I followed it exactly and it tunred out wonderful! My DH ate it all up. We made tacos, and topped them with cilantro, onion, limes, and hotsauce. Then with the left overs took sandwiches the next day. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Excellent recipe but for those that don't like the heat cut back to one jalopeno.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stormrider

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaverton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
My husband loves Lengua. We are currently in Hanoi Vietnam and I though why not while we are here to try this dish. I was about to get FRESH beef tongue which I think made the dish good. Instead of cooking the tomatoes, jalapenos separte I cooked it with the tongue and I added 1 cup of chicken broth. He said it was just like the kind he would get in his favorite restuarant in Texas. I have friends here now wanting the recipe. This is a keeper. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
It was my families first time with lengua and we are impressed. This recipe probably has a lot to do with our liking it. I used chilli peppers in place of jalapenos because the kids can tolerate it a lot better. We turned into tacos as well, with my husbands homemade salsa with tomatoes, jalapenos, cilantro, onions, lemon juice and garlic powder. I even chased the kids with the tongue before cooking, and they still liked eating it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yamhill, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
This was the tastiest lengua I've ever made! Everyone in the family loves the taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
It certainly took a long time to brine, but this was an excellent recipe and we all loved it! It's so tender! The only change I made was to decrease it to 2 jalapenos so the kids would eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
very well exsplained
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by s.arias

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Thank you so much for your recipe. I like lengua. They make the best tacos. Also, you can slice the meat after it is cooked and skin removed and fry in a little oil with slice onions, and chopped tomatoes, minced fresh garlic, salt and pepper. Serve with mexican rice and pinto beans. and of course flour or corn tortillas. You can also add 1 hot serrano chopped into tomato and onion mixture. thanks again for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I thought cooking tongue was harder than it was. The skin came right off. My son liked this and he is the picky one. I used diced tomato with jalapenos as I didn't have any jalapenos on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Medallions with Fresh Horseradish Sauce

A sweet tomato salad with seared beef and a creamy, aromatic horseradish sauce.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States