Lengua (Beef Tongue) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Taste is great, my issue is the texture of the meat, but I don't think that has anything to do with the recipe. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Felecia1331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Sterling, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
This was a really good recipe. I didn't change anything other than cooking mine just a bit longer since it was on the larger side. I served it on soft fried corn shells =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
I remember wrinkling my nose when my mom used to get lengua on Sundays. Once I tried it, that was a different story. Cooking method only: This recipe makes an awesomely flavorful lengua (beef tongue)! I thought the amount of salt seemed like too much, but it is perfect. I didn't have any jalapeno peppers but I did add some celery to make a wonderful broth (now I have tons of yummy beef broth in my freezer for future use!!). I also cooked it in the crockpot for about 8 or 9 hours on low heat. I only followed direction #1 because I needed the meat to be drier to make into gorditas (my recipe uses different liquid/spices). I can't wait to serve this to my family! They are going to love it (I wonder how they are going to react when I tell them what it actually is...lol). I have no doubt that they will still ask for it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeeplette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Anna, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
seriously awesome. the hardest thing about this recipe was finding a place to buy the tongue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
This is delicious! So tender and tasty. I've made your recipe at least four times in the past couple years, usually for tamales. After the tongue's done simmering, I just add sauteed onions and spices like cumin, onion, and garlic powder. Any tips on how to use the leftover spicy salted beef broth? I have so many containers of it in my freezer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bog5nc
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I cook it over night in a crock pot. It comes out super tender in the morning (8-9 hours on low)!!Boil it with a small onion, jalapeno, serrano, tomato, a couple of bay leaves, salt, garlic salt, bouillon. Make sure you add plenty of salt to the water that way the meat can have a lot flavor. Shred and serve in tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I thought cooking tongue was harder than it was. The skin came right off. My son liked this and he is the picky one. I used diced tomato with jalapenos as I didn't have any jalapenos on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Thank you so much for your recipe. I like lengua. They make the best tacos. Also, you can slice the meat after it is cooked and skin removed and fry in a little oil with slice onions, and chopped tomatoes, minced fresh garlic, salt and pepper. Serve with mexican rice and pinto beans. and of course flour or corn tortillas. You can also add 1 hot serrano chopped into tomato and onion mixture. thanks again for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
very well exsplained
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by s.arias

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
It certainly took a long time to brine, but this was an excellent recipe and we all loved it! It's so tender! The only change I made was to decrease it to 2 jalapenos so the kids would eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Medallions with Fresh Horseradish Sauce

A sweet tomato salad with seared beef and a creamy, aromatic horseradish sauce.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States