Lemony Steamed Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2001
Instead of using onion powder I used 1/4 cup of onion. Also added 1/2 tsp of garlic puree and used 1/4 cup lemon juice. Baked all cod together in one dish covered with aluminum foil. Excellent! Served with BROCCOLI WITH LEMON ALMOND BUTTER and 1/2 cup basmati rice. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2002
I tried the recipe on Red Snapper. This is a really easy, low-fat recipe, and uses items that you are likely to have on hand. The description is correct-the flavor is mild. Unfortunately, it was too mild for our taste. I might try it again, but will look for an additional ingredient to give it more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APRILMILLER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saratoga, California, USA
Living In: Dallas - Ft. Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2001
I used rainbow trout with this recipe and also added a splash of both white wine and extra virgin olive oil to each packet. It turned out delicious. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Had I prepared this recipe as written, I'm not so sure I would really have rated it these three stars, which I consider average. No fat? No butter, no drizzle of olive oil, nothing? And then steamed? Our taste buds like the flavor and mouth feel fat contributes! It gives the fish a nice golden color too. So anyway, it was a no brainer for me to do it my own way - drizzled with melted butter and baked. I did use halibut, but in the interest of simplicity I didn't use all the many seasonings called for. Some fresh dill, garlic powder, paprika (for color, basically), salt and pepper and a squeeze of lemon juice was just what this needed. Cooking time will vary depending on the thickness of the fish, but in my case 12 minutes at 400 degrees was just right for perfectly cooked, perfectly golden and flaky filets - and much improved from the three stars I've rated this as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2001
Very easy and tastes great. I baked mine in a Reynolds Foil Bag at 425 degrees for 30 min with some fresh veggies. Healthy meal - no mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2001
This was really easy and my husband LOVED it. I added quite a bit more lemon pepper than was called for and served it with buttered basmati rice and peas. The rice nicely cut the spicy pepper for a great flavor. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2001
It was good but a little too much dill for our tastes. Next time, I will adjust seasonings and also shorten the cooking time. The fish was slightly overcooked and dry, which happens easily with halibut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
Excellent recipe! We used Tilapia and it turned out wonderful. A suggestion would be to add an ice cube to the packet for a little more moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2001
This was wonderful! I used cod and cooked it in my steamer. It was flaky and very flavorful. I used the sauce to pour over the top of the fish and the rice I had. Hopefully this recipe will encourage me to eat more fish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
From frozen takes double the amount of time!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrystalGayle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Brown Butter Pan-Fried White Fish

See how to make quick and easy pan-fried fish in brown butter.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States