Lemony Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
Good recipe, but quinoa can have a bitter taste if you don't rinse it first under cold water before cooking. You will notice the difference. Also one of the best ways to cook it is in a rice cooker. I have a cheapo one (because my expensive one is useless) use 1 cup Quinoa to 2 cups liquid. Perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
I thought it was very good. Next time I won't put all the lemon though. I didn't have any pine nuts so I used walnuts. I also sub tajin bc I didn't have the cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
If you don't have pine nuts, slivered almonds are a good substitute. Toast them in the same way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Treena ClueBactus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
I made it with sliced almonds since I didn't have pine nuts and did a few other things a little different (parsley wasn't fresh and I used bottled lemon juice) but it still turned out pretty well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen Michaud

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
We really liked this! Made this to accompany Whitefish for guests eating gluten-free. Even my husband, who doesn't like anything "healthy" (Lol!), enjoyed it! I used chicken broth to boil it, didn't add all the lemon juice. I was concerned about the veggies not being cooked but it was perfect. I also like that quinoa only takes 10-15 minutes as opposed to 50 for brown rice. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Just add half bunch of parsley
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
We love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nana To Ten
Reviewed: May 28, 2014
This was the first time that we cooked Quinoa, the kernels were kingdom of stuck together. The flavor was great, but think maybe we did something wrong. We did rinse it very well before starting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nana To Ten

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Milford, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Great recipe and very versatile. Yes, I did modify. Sauteed ¼ cup onion and two chopped cloves of garlic then added 3 chicken bouillon cubes to the water. Didn't have enough fresh parsley so used about 3 tablespoons of Thai basil, purple basil, and parsley. This recipe would probably be fabulous with shrimp. Will add shrimp pieces to the onion/garlic saute next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
This was absolutely delicious. I didn't change a thing and served it with grilled chicken/steamed broccoli. This was my first venture with cooking quinoa and this recipe was a GREAT start! I highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States