Lemony Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
This is a great recipe! I boiled my quinoa in reduced sodium chicken broth and added some sauteed zucchini and onions because I did not have (or particularly like the idea of ) the cold celery. i also added a dash of garlic powder and onion powder. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I loved this recipe. Healthy and delicious. I added the veggies and spices while it was still in the pot. Didn't have pine nuts, so used toasted pumpkin seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
This was a delicious recipe! I didn't have any pine nuts, so I used some slivered almonds instead. I also left out the parsley, because I didn't have that either! Even with these changes, the quinoa turned out great and was very tasty. Thanks for the recipe; I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
Yummy! I boiled my quinoa in stock, and found it a bit too intensely flavoured. Next time I'll use 1/2 water and 1/2 stock. I added chopped red pepper and cucumber as well as the zest of the lemon I squeezed. Very yummy salad, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
This is the first time I have eaten quinoa and it was a wonderful experience! I did make a few adjustments. I do not like pine nuts or celery so I omitted those ingredients. I was out of parsley so I used fresh spinach. I don't really care for the taste of cumin so I used just a pinch of it. It tasted amazing! Next time I am going to try it with parsley and I am sure it will be just as good if not better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
I loved this dish.....I did omit the celery and pine nuts since I didnt have any on hand...I did sautee the red onion,garlic, and a diced zucchini and added that to the cooked quinoa. Loved the lemon juice flavor and enhanced that by adding the zest of a lemon as well. Very fresh tasting. Very healthy. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
This was the first time I prepared quinoa, and I won't be looking for other recipes... I did make some changes to the recipe that I will use the next time: I sauteed the vegetables (used a shredded zucchini in addition to the onion), added curry in addition to cumin (actually by accident - I grabbed the wrong "c" spice and it was added before I realized it) and used slivered almonds (that I browned in butter) in place of the pine nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
First time making quinoa. I added chopped cucumber, a splash of olive oil, and a can of artichoke hearts, cut very small. Didn't have pinenuts or fresh parsley, used toasted walnut pieces and dried herb. Just realized I missed the cayenne and cumin, but I did add cracked black pepper. Served with high-quality canned salmon and extra lemon. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
What a great dish! I didn't have the parsley but it was still amazing! This is going to be one of my favorites that I will be making often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcaballero

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmingdale, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Now this is some pretty good stuff!!! I love the flavour of the lemon mixed with the spicyness of the cayenne pepper! I threw in some dried cranberries for good measure too - awesome meal! Thanks for the recipe! A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States