Lemony Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
This was the first time I prepared quinoa, and I won't be looking for other recipes... I did make some changes to the recipe that I will use the next time: I sauteed the vegetables (used a shredded zucchini in addition to the onion), added curry in addition to cumin (actually by accident - I grabbed the wrong "c" spice and it was added before I realized it) and used slivered almonds (that I browned in butter) in place of the pine nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
This was a delicious recipe! I didn't have any pine nuts, so I used some slivered almonds instead. I also left out the parsley, because I didn't have that either! Even with these changes, the quinoa turned out great and was very tasty. Thanks for the recipe; I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I loved this recipe. Healthy and delicious. I added the veggies and spices while it was still in the pot. Didn't have pine nuts, so used toasted pumpkin seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Now this is some pretty good stuff!!! I love the flavour of the lemon mixed with the spicyness of the cayenne pepper! I threw in some dried cranberries for good measure too - awesome meal! Thanks for the recipe! A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
Yummy! I boiled my quinoa in stock, and found it a bit too intensely flavoured. Next time I'll use 1/2 water and 1/2 stock. I added chopped red pepper and cucumber as well as the zest of the lemon I squeezed. Very yummy salad, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
This is the first time I have eaten quinoa and it was a wonderful experience! I did make a few adjustments. I do not like pine nuts or celery so I omitted those ingredients. I was out of parsley so I used fresh spinach. I don't really care for the taste of cumin so I used just a pinch of it. It tasted amazing! Next time I am going to try it with parsley and I am sure it will be just as good if not better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
First time making quinoa. I added chopped cucumber, a splash of olive oil, and a can of artichoke hearts, cut very small. Didn't have pinenuts or fresh parsley, used toasted walnut pieces and dried herb. Just realized I missed the cayenne and cumin, but I did add cracked black pepper. Served with high-quality canned salmon and extra lemon. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
I loved this dish.....I did omit the celery and pine nuts since I didnt have any on hand...I did sautee the red onion,garlic, and a diced zucchini and added that to the cooked quinoa. Loved the lemon juice flavor and enhanced that by adding the zest of a lemon as well. Very fresh tasting. Very healthy. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
This is a great recipe! I boiled my quinoa in reduced sodium chicken broth and added some sauteed zucchini and onions because I did not have (or particularly like the idea of ) the cold celery. i also added a dash of garlic powder and onion powder. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
What a great dish! I didn't have the parsley but it was still amazing! This is going to be one of my favorites that I will be making often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcaballero

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmingdale, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States