Lemony Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I didn't have pine nuts or onions (I know! No onions?) so I added toasted pumkin seeds. Besides the cumin and the cayenne pepper, I added coriander and paprika as well as a fresh garlic clove. It came out great! I added the spices and the celery while the quinoa was cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
First time that I've had quinoa. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Even our pickiest 13 year old family member asked for seconds. Spicy and cool at the same time. The flavors linger in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This is a simple meal made very quickly. It's full of flavor and has different ingredients from the ordinary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Palatine, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Fabulous! I will be having this again! Also, this is a very substitution friendly recipe as others have mentioned (curry powder, raisins, toasted pumpkin seeds or other nuts, cilantro, couscous, etc.) It's great as is and as a starting point for creative cooking! Thanks for a fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Escape

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This was AWESOME! I didn't have pine nuts or cayenne pepper. Other than that, I followed the recipe to the letter and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I've never cooked quinoa at home before, but this recipe reminded me of one of my favorite dishes from a local restaurant, and I just had to try it. So glad I did! I thought the lemon was refreshing and tangy, but not overpowering (although I love lemon -- so maybe add bit by bit until you get the flavor you want.) I used cucumber instead of celery, added a little red bell pepper, and cooked the quinoa in half chicken broth-half water. I omitted the pine nuts since the recipe I was trying to recreate didn't have them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This was easy and very good. We paired it with a lemon chicken and had no leftovers :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Wasn't really into this. The flavors seemed underdeveloped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Nelson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
This is the 1st time I prepared quinoa, and it was important that my husband didn't feel it was bland. The only thing I did different was left out the parsley only because I didn't have any on hand. Other than that it was to the 'T'. We both enjoyed it and I will make it again. There will be one adjustment; only 1/2 the lemon juice will be used. It was just too strong for our taste. Thanks so much for the recipe. Happy cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catcassetta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States