Lemony Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
This is pretty good. It felt like it was missing something though. Next time I will try boiling the quinoa in half water and half stock for a little more flavor and maybe snip in some sun dried tomatoes. One thing I like to do to add a little more flavor to my quinoa is toast is first in a skillet before boiling it. Stir with a spatula over medium heat, rinse over a fine mesh strainer (to wash off any possible bitterness from the coating), then boil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
In my opinion, the flavors were overpowering. Did I do something wrong? ;(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Wikert

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
First time making and serving Quinoa. We loved this. It was so fresh tasting with the lemon and celery. We served it with salmon and it was so satisfying. We will serve this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I didn't have pine nuts or onions (I know! No onions?) so I added toasted pumkin seeds. Besides the cumin and the cayenne pepper, I added coriander and paprika as well as a fresh garlic clove. It came out great! I added the spices and the celery while the quinoa was cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
First time that I've had quinoa. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Even our pickiest 13 year old family member asked for seconds. Spicy and cool at the same time. The flavors linger in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This is a simple meal made very quickly. It's full of flavor and has different ingredients from the ordinary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Palatine, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Fabulous! I will be having this again! Also, this is a very substitution friendly recipe as others have mentioned (curry powder, raisins, toasted pumpkin seeds or other nuts, cilantro, couscous, etc.) It's great as is and as a starting point for creative cooking! Thanks for a fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Escape

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This was AWESOME! I didn't have pine nuts or cayenne pepper. Other than that, I followed the recipe to the letter and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I've never cooked quinoa at home before, but this recipe reminded me of one of my favorite dishes from a local restaurant, and I just had to try it. So glad I did! I thought the lemon was refreshing and tangy, but not overpowering (although I love lemon -- so maybe add bit by bit until you get the flavor you want.) I used cucumber instead of celery, added a little red bell pepper, and cooked the quinoa in half chicken broth-half water. I omitted the pine nuts since the recipe I was trying to recreate didn't have them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States