Lemony Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Wow, yummy dish. I subbed pecans for the pine nuts and kale for the parsley. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
This is a great recipe, but I did need to make quite a few changes to make it perfect for my family. First I found that it was a little dry and needed more flavor, so I doubled the amount of Lemon, and Cumin. I left the cayenne pepper the same since my children do not like spicy food. I also added Garlic, 1 tbsp of Lemon zest, 1 tbsp of sugar, 1 tsp olive oil, shredded carrots, red bell pepper, and grape tomatoes. I took out the pine nuts and cut the amount of parsley in half. I will normally serve it on a bed of arugula, with grilled chicken strips. I know it is a lot of changes, but this is a great base recipe that has become a family favorite and is always on the request list for neighborhood BBQ's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Very good!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily McCann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
A delicious and light dish. Pine nuts were too expensive, so I substituted them for cashews. I also threw some pumpkin seeds and red peppers into the dish and omitted the parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I made this to bring to work for the week. It is delicious! I did as a few reviewers suggested and used some stock in addition to water. I used Better Than Bouillon reduced sodium veggie stock-1 tsp for 2 cups of water. It was a good amount. Also, I added a squeeze of lemon juice to liquid. I added a bunch of sauteed veggies to the recipe, too: summer squash, green bell pepper, onion and mushrooms. Next time I will add more. I served it with some baked cod-I used lemon juice, paprika, dill and pepper on the fish. Makes a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Tasted great but I added a handful of chopped cilantro instead of parsley to add to the citrus flavor, good warm or cold
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marissa P.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
I just made this for the first time and its yummy, I'm usually not a grain type of person but it made a nice change from potatoes or salad as I had it with a piece of salmon. I didn't change the recipe much but after reading some reviews I put the spices in the water and cooked it like that, I added celery leaves instead of parsley and some chopped red pepper along with a small amount of onion, no nuts (they get stuck in my teeth). Can't wait to have it cold for lunch tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Good recipe. I didn't have red onion and used a small sweet vidalia onion instead. Made this 2 nights ago for dinner and am having leftover for lunch today. Was good 2 nights ago warm for dinner, and is even better today, cold straight from the frig. The flavors may have even improved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
This was so easy to make and was so full of flavor. And so healthy too. I added chicken to give it more protein and make it a more of a meal. I definitely recommend this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
Very Good base recipe, I did need to add some garlic and increase the spices to make it more flavorful, and I used veggie stock rather than water and that helped with the flavor as well. Quinoa is a delicious, healthy grain and I am always looking for different ways to prepare it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States