Lemony Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
I followed other reviewer's suggestions and used 1/2 chicken stock, 1/2 water, added the cumin & cayenne pepper while the quinoa was cooking. I don't like onions so I also added a few dashes of onion powder while it was cooking. Omitted the fresh parsley as I didn't have any on hand. It could use a bit more flavor, but it was an easy, tasty and healthy dish that I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
I love this recipe and make it all the time, just as it is written. If you don't have the pine nuts, or have a nut allergy, it comes out just great without them (but better with them!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
A wonderful and healthy recipe! We will deinitely try it again. I followed the recipe but just for fun and because I had the ingredients on hand I added diced sweet red pepper, diced black mission figs and chopped fresh basil. I took the hint from Cook471 and set it up on the plates in 1/2 cup molds topped with a basil leaf (the rosemary would have been prettier but I didn't have any fresh!) Someone suggested adding diced cucumber. Great idea especially for summer. I will do that the next time. Thanks for a refreshing & healthy side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
I thought this dish was delicious and quite healthy, But it didn't quite pass the kid and husband test. I made exactly as the recipe said, but I think next time I will use almonds instead of pine nuts, that was the only part I wasn't too thrilled about. May also add some extra veggies simply because we love veggies in this house. But otherwise very good dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Good! But I made changes too. I used vegetable broth instead of water, I added zuccinni, green pepper and fresh garlic. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Wow, yummy dish. I subbed pecans for the pine nuts and kale for the parsley. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
This is a great recipe, but I did need to make quite a few changes to make it perfect for my family. First I found that it was a little dry and needed more flavor, so I doubled the amount of Lemon, and Cumin. I left the cayenne pepper the same since my children do not like spicy food. I also added Garlic, 1 tbsp of Lemon zest, 1 tbsp of sugar, 1 tsp olive oil, shredded carrots, red bell pepper, and grape tomatoes. I took out the pine nuts and cut the amount of parsley in half. I will normally serve it on a bed of arugula, with grilled chicken strips. I know it is a lot of changes, but this is a great base recipe that has become a family favorite and is always on the request list for neighborhood BBQ's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Very good!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily McCann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
A delicious and light dish. Pine nuts were too expensive, so I substituted them for cashews. I also threw some pumpkin seeds and red peppers into the dish and omitted the parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I made this to bring to work for the week. It is delicious! I did as a few reviewers suggested and used some stock in addition to water. I used Better Than Bouillon reduced sodium veggie stock-1 tsp for 2 cups of water. It was a good amount. Also, I added a squeeze of lemon juice to liquid. I added a bunch of sauteed veggies to the recipe, too: summer squash, green bell pepper, onion and mushrooms. Next time I will add more. I served it with some baked cod-I used lemon juice, paprika, dill and pepper on the fish. Makes a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States