Lemony Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Our family loves this side dish with grilled salmon. I have a tough time finding/keeping from going rancid pine nuts so I usually omit them, but it's still wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
not my cup of tea!! Very ethnic tasting/texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
I liked the taste of this, except for too much celery for our likes. When looking at the recipe I knew that was too much, so I cut the amount in half. Next time I'll cut it down a little more even. Using fresh-squeezed lemon juice is a must - very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
This makes a great side dish or luncheon salad. I used toasted slivered almonds instead of pine nuts (can't get them easily out here), but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. When adjusting the salt and pepper I realized that the dish absolutely required carrots; what a difference a little bit of chopped carrot made. Had leftovers right out of the fridge for lunch the next day -- great! Thanks, MBlassnig, for a delicious quinoa recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pearce, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Holy parsley!!! I only used a bit of the "bunch" of parsley and it overpowered the dish. I think all of the "stuff" overpowered the quinoa in this a bit, which would be nice if you don't like quinoa anyway. I followed the recipe in that I didn't cook the onions and celery. Perhaps that is why they were a little overpowering. Might try sauteing a bit before adding next time or just adding a bit less. I'll definitely add a lot less parsley next time! Also, I forgot to get the pine nuts so I ended up using sliced almonds. Very good with these as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
I didn't have any pine nuts, but other than that I followed the recipe. I really didn't care for this. It was bland. All that really came through was the lemon juice. We reheated leftovers with some shredded cheddar cheese on top and that helped a lot, but I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Excellent! I would only suggest more pine nuts. I have never cooked with pine cuts before and now I love them. I cooked the quinoa with a little bit of Knorr chicken powder and with the cumin. I also love cumin a lot so I added some after anyway. I usually add more lemon to recipes than required, but this one doesn't need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
Really good! Used toasted pecans in place of the pine nuts. Added a dash of curry as someone else suggested. Also cooked quinoa in half water, half chicken broth. Very good recipe; thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shortcut
Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Wouldn't change a thing! Delicious! Works great cold or warm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Delicious and tasty. I doubled for a potluck and it was all gone. A really great side dish to have for your friends who cannot eat wheat & for vegetarians. I used the tri-color quinoa from Trader Joes and as suggested, chicken broth instead of water. This recipe is sort of like a taboulleh for quinoa. I did add an entire diced English cuc & three plum tomatoes, and not quite as much parsley as called for, about 1/2 c and salt. Lots of color and great taste! A great way to use this grain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States