Lemony Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Lemony and a nice change. Easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daveycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Now this is some pretty good stuff!!! I love the flavour of the lemon mixed with the spicyness of the cayenne pepper! I threw in some dried cranberries for good measure too - awesome meal! Thanks for the recipe! A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
This was a delicious recipe! I didn't have any pine nuts, so I used some slivered almonds instead. I also left out the parsley, because I didn't have that either! Even with these changes, the quinoa turned out great and was very tasty. Thanks for the recipe; I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
This was the first time I prepared quinoa, and I won't be looking for other recipes... I did make some changes to the recipe that I will use the next time: I sauteed the vegetables (used a shredded zucchini in addition to the onion), added curry in addition to cumin (actually by accident - I grabbed the wrong "c" spice and it was added before I realized it) and used slivered almonds (that I browned in butter) in place of the pine nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
This was our first quinoa recipe. We liked it very much. Next time I'll back off a bit on the lemon juice. We sauteed the veggies as we don't care for raw onion. Will make again for sure. Might add garlic next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Quinoa is such a versatile (and yummy!) grain. This turned out to be a nice light side dish! As noted by a couple others, I also did not like the thought of celery mixed in, so opted to sauté zucchini with my onion before hand. I also added the cumin, cayenne and salt to the water with the quinoa. Also added lemon zest with the lemon juice at the end, but was unfortunately out of fresh parsley. Turned out great, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
I made this recipe as a side dish and it turned out great. Loved the crunchy texture and the bright lemony taste. The next day I added a little olive oil to the cold leftovers and that was my lunch. One thing I did do, after reading several articles on quinoa, was rinse it thoroughly before cooking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
What a great dish! I didn't have the parsley but it was still amazing! This is going to be one of my favorites that I will be making often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcaballero

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmingdale, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
This is a great recipe! I boiled my quinoa in reduced sodium chicken broth and added some sauteed zucchini and onions because I did not have (or particularly like the idea of ) the cold celery. i also added a dash of garlic powder and onion powder. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
This was excellent! I had some left over pumpkin seeds so I toasted those and used them instead of pine nuts. The quinoa was a little dry... probably should've used more liquid while cooking but instead I just added some olive oil over the top of the finished salad. Next time I'll probably use green onions instead of red, just because my family likes a milder onion flavor. I would also like to try this using basil or maybe cilantro... though the cilantro might be too much with the lemon. We'll see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shef W

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenmore, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States