Lemony Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
This was our first quinoa recipe. We liked it very much. Next time I'll back off a bit on the lemon juice. We sauteed the veggies as we don't care for raw onion. Will make again for sure. Might add garlic next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Quinoa is such a versatile (and yummy!) grain. This turned out to be a nice light side dish! As noted by a couple others, I also did not like the thought of celery mixed in, so opted to sauté zucchini with my onion before hand. I also added the cumin, cayenne and salt to the water with the quinoa. Also added lemon zest with the lemon juice at the end, but was unfortunately out of fresh parsley. Turned out great, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
I made this recipe as a side dish and it turned out great. Loved the crunchy texture and the bright lemony taste. The next day I added a little olive oil to the cold leftovers and that was my lunch. One thing I did do, after reading several articles on quinoa, was rinse it thoroughly before cooking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
What a great dish! I didn't have the parsley but it was still amazing! This is going to be one of my favorites that I will be making often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcaballero

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmingdale, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
This is a great recipe! I boiled my quinoa in reduced sodium chicken broth and added some sauteed zucchini and onions because I did not have (or particularly like the idea of ) the cold celery. i also added a dash of garlic powder and onion powder. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
This was excellent! I had some left over pumpkin seeds so I toasted those and used them instead of pine nuts. The quinoa was a little dry... probably should've used more liquid while cooking but instead I just added some olive oil over the top of the finished salad. Next time I'll probably use green onions instead of red, just because my family likes a milder onion flavor. I would also like to try this using basil or maybe cilantro... though the cilantro might be too much with the lemon. We'll see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shef W

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenmore, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
I loved this dish.....I did omit the celery and pine nuts since I didnt have any on hand...I did sautee the red onion,garlic, and a diced zucchini and added that to the cooked quinoa. Loved the lemon juice flavor and enhanced that by adding the zest of a lemon as well. Very fresh tasting. Very healthy. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
First time making quinoa. I added chopped cucumber, a splash of olive oil, and a can of artichoke hearts, cut very small. Didn't have pinenuts or fresh parsley, used toasted walnut pieces and dried herb. Just realized I missed the cayenne and cumin, but I did add cracked black pepper. Served with high-quality canned salmon and extra lemon. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
This is the first time I have eaten quinoa and it was a wonderful experience! I did make a few adjustments. I do not like pine nuts or celery so I omitted those ingredients. I was out of parsley so I used fresh spinach. I don't really care for the taste of cumin so I used just a pinch of it. It tasted amazing! Next time I am going to try it with parsley and I am sure it will be just as good if not better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
This was ok, there is a better recipe for a similar type of dish that I've made before - which is DELICIOUS. This was fine though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States