Lemony Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Good recipe! I followed the notes of several reviewers and cooked the quinoa in half broth, half water, I added the spices to the quinoa while cooking. I also cooked the celery and onions in a little olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
I loved this recipe. I did a few changes though. I sauted the onion and celery first, just until they softened a bit, not mushy. Then I added the lemon juice just before all the water had cooked out and let the lemon juice cook out as well. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I enjoyed the zing from the lemon. This recipe is versatile--added cumcumbers, mint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
Excellent. I used toasted almonds and omitted parsley because I didn't have any. I think I'll make it again with cukes and red pepper and/or zucchini added
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Aurora, New York, USA
Living In: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
This is excellent and perfect as written! I didn't think it was too lemony at all. The flavors all blended together beautifully. I used 3/4 tsp. sea salt, which I think helped to balance out the lemon. I'm not a big fan of celery, but I enjoyed it in this dish. Next time I might add some chopped spinach to make it a complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
It was okay but not my personal favorite. Too much like bird seed. My husband really liked it and my 8 year old went back for seconds so I guess it was not all bad. I will try it again maybe without the cumin since I am not a huge fan of that spice. I did saute the onion and celery in a little butter until they were soft because I wanted to soften the onion taste and I hate raw celery. The pine nuts were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Decatur, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
This may be an excellent recipe with a few more additions since the flavor is all lemon rather than a nicely combined flavor. It is, however, a very healthy addition to any meal and I would recommend anyone try this as a base recipe and be creative with extras.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
this was sooooo good. quinoa always tasted pretty bland but this is very delicious. definitely recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tough.to.be.tender

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Good but not amazing. I also used half water half chicken stock. I only used half a bunch of parsley because a full one would have been too much for my taste. I used 3 Tbsp. lemon and thought it was still too much, had too much of a sour taste. I left my celery and onion kind of chunky because I like it like that. If I made it again, I would only use half the lemon and maybe more cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States