Lemony Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
This is delicious! I would have given this five stars but I found that cooking the Quinoa in two cups of chicken broth gave it a better flavor than in water and eliminated the need for salt. So I am giving it four stars. So good and a nice accompaniment to any protein dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
This was delicious. I tossed the celery, onion and seasonings in with the quinoa because I am lazy. :) Added pine nuts and lemon juice at the end.. just now realized I forgot the parsley.. oops will add that to the leftovers. It was very good and not too lemony for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
I love quinoa, but this seemed to be lacking something for me. I think it needed a little bit of a kick. If you like lemon, you will definitely like this, though... very lemony. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
Very good!!!!!! An awesome recipe. Thank you. Changed it up a bit but still a great recipe as is...added chicken broth instead of water, 1 tsp of cumin and cilantro instead of parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Post Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
I doubled the recipe so that I could take some to a BBQ and have some for home as well. I substituted the pine nuts with chopped almonds and added 5 thinly sliced baby carrots and half a yellow pepper. At first, after I made it, I felt like it was missing "something". I had my son taste test it and he agreed there was "something" missing. So I added a little more cumin and cayenne pepper (maybe about another 1/4 teaspoon of each) Plus I added about 1/2 teaspoon of dried oregano. After I mixed everything in, I let it sit in the fridge for a couple of hours before serving. It was DELICIOUS (and very colorful). A huge hit at the BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
Super delicious just as the recipe is written. No modifications needed. The taste can be altered by poor tasting celery, parsley, lemon or onion, so since you don't cook those ingredients use the freshest you can find.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracyg777

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forest Grove, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
We loved this! We made a lot and it was an easy meal or snack to grab and eat cold. I added some julienned carrots, slightly steamed and they went perfectly. I do think it needs heavier veggies, so I doubled the celery and onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Good recipe! I followed the notes of several reviewers and cooked the quinoa in half broth, half water, I added the spices to the quinoa while cooking. I also cooked the celery and onions in a little olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
I loved this recipe. I did a few changes though. I sauted the onion and celery first, just until they softened a bit, not mushy. Then I added the lemon juice just before all the water had cooked out and let the lemon juice cook out as well. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I enjoyed the zing from the lemon. This recipe is versatile--added cumcumbers, mint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States