Lemony Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This was AWESOME! I didn't have pine nuts or cayenne pepper. Other than that, I followed the recipe to the letter and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I've never cooked quinoa at home before, but this recipe reminded me of one of my favorite dishes from a local restaurant, and I just had to try it. So glad I did! I thought the lemon was refreshing and tangy, but not overpowering (although I love lemon -- so maybe add bit by bit until you get the flavor you want.) I used cucumber instead of celery, added a little red bell pepper, and cooked the quinoa in half chicken broth-half water. I omitted the pine nuts since the recipe I was trying to recreate didn't have them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This was easy and very good. We paired it with a lemon chicken and had no leftovers :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Wasn't really into this. The flavors seemed underdeveloped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Nelson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
This is the 1st time I prepared quinoa, and it was important that my husband didn't feel it was bland. The only thing I did different was left out the parsley only because I didn't have any on hand. Other than that it was to the 'T'. We both enjoyed it and I will make it again. There will be one adjustment; only 1/2 the lemon juice will be used. It was just too strong for our taste. Thanks so much for the recipe. Happy cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catcassetta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
I had high hopes based on all of the reviews. I liked the crunchy of the celery/onion/pine nuts but the whole family didn't like the cumin/cayenne/lemon combo. I will keep searching.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
This is one of the best quinoa recipes I have ever seen. I used slivered almonds instead of pine nuts because the almonds were half the price of the pine nuts. I also used lime juice instead of lemon because that is what I had handy. I added a teaspoon of curry powder after reading other reviews. I didn't add any salt (I prefer food less salty). This was tasty, refreshing with just the right amount of crunch. This will make a great potluck dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Not my favorite - made the recipe as is - too lemony for my tastes. Very acidy - felt like I was missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
This is delicious! I would have given this five stars but I found that cooking the Quinoa in two cups of chicken broth gave it a better flavor than in water and eliminated the need for salt. So I am giving it four stars. So good and a nice accompaniment to any protein dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
This was delicious. I tossed the celery, onion and seasonings in with the quinoa because I am lazy. :) Added pine nuts and lemon juice at the end.. just now realized I forgot the parsley.. oops will add that to the leftovers. It was very good and not too lemony for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Trem

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States