Lemony Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
this was a nice base recipe.. i didn't have any pine nuts so i left them out.. used half water/half chicken broth (bouillon) as others suggested but could have gone all broth.. i used bottled lemon.. one green onion and some onion powder to make up for the quarter red onion.. used only a half bunch of parsley (worried it would overpower everything).. i added the cumin and cayenne to the quinoa as it cooked like Azurel did.. i think the quinoa could have cooked a little longer as mine was not as dry as i'd like it to be.. i sprinkled in some lemon pepper, red wine vinegar, and beer salt (it's got citric acid in it and i was looking for sour).. i realized at the end that it was missing garlic! bf said it could have used a bit of montreal steak seasoning.. i think he was also looking for the garlic.. he also said this would be great with some shrimp or chicken stirred in.. either way.. this is what i was hoping for.. something reminiscent of tabbouleh.. ~~UPDATE: having leftovers this morning.. i added some more chopped fresh parsley and some lime juice.. it was exactly what i was looking for yesterday! this is a great dish and i look forward to making this again.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2015
I ended up serving this cold on a salad, topped with shrimp cooked with lemon, cayenne and garlic on top. I served it with Italian vinaigrette salad dressing. I added some sauteed mushrooms, used sunflower seeds, and dry parsley because that's what I had on hand. I served it to someone that has never tried quinoa before and they said it was delicious! It's now a permanent recipe in my file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
This would have been much better without the parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
Good recipe, but quinoa can have a bitter taste if you don't rinse it first under cold water before cooking. You will notice the difference. Also one of the best ways to cook it is in a rice cooker. I have a cheapo one (because my expensive one is useless) use 1 cup Quinoa to 2 cups liquid. Perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
I thought it was very good. Next time I won't put all the lemon though. I didn't have any pine nuts so I used walnuts. I also sub tajin bc I didn't have the cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
If you don't have pine nuts, slivered almonds are a good substitute. Toast them in the same way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Treena ClueBactus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
I made it with sliced almonds since I didn't have pine nuts and did a few other things a little different (parsley wasn't fresh and I used bottled lemon juice) but it still turned out pretty well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen Michaud

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
We really liked this! Made this to accompany Whitefish for guests eating gluten-free. Even my husband, who doesn't like anything "healthy" (Lol!), enjoyed it! I used chicken broth to boil it, didn't add all the lemon juice. I was concerned about the veggies not being cooked but it was perfect. I also like that quinoa only takes 10-15 minutes as opposed to 50 for brown rice. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Just add half bunch of parsley
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
We love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States