Lemony Poppy Seed Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I found these muffins not lemony enough, I used 3 medium lemons. Also there were too many poppy seeds and the muffins were a little dry. I also found the recipe made 18 medium sized muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
The muffins turned out quite nice. I cut out some of the sugar (I always do because most things are too sweet for my taste) but in this case I should have just used the amount of sugar it called for. They would have turned out great! I think I will use a bit more lemon juice next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Weston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Handewitt, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
Living In: 100 Mile House, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Excellent recipe, I double this recipe and only had 2 1/2 lemons. Had a nice lemon flavour but would use the recommended amount next time. Also thought I had lots of poppy seeds but couldn't find them so I used 1/2 poppy seeds and 1/2 chia seeds. Also used whole wheat flour and 1 c of oatmeal to replace the white flour. They turned out great soft and moist on the inside and a nice crispy layer on the outside. I made mini muffins so the kids could bring them to school for snacks. They were a great hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Delicious! We have made this recipe three times now. We used fat free greek yogurt and an addition of 1/2 teaspoon of almond extract is tasty. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I made a double batch of these, and they are delicious! I only had 2 1/2 lemons on hand so I only ended up with 1/2 cup of lemon juice, and I used 2 TB of lemon zest. I will definitely use this recipe again, but I will probably do at least 3/4 c. of lemon juice for a double batch next time. I also had vanilla greek yogurt on hand and they were still fluffy and delicious. I baked my muffins for 2 minutes less than the suggested time to prevent them turning too brown or dry. Thanks for an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Hoffman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Wonderful, yet they weren't exactly what I expected. The consistency was light and they aren't too sweet. The lemon flavor was not over whelming but pleasant. I had enough batter to make 12 plus 4 mini muffins. The regular sized muffins were full of batter when I put them in the oven and rose to just the right level. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jules mcdaniel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kylene
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Delicious! My husband loves lemon poppyseed muffins, so it decided to make him happy and bake some for breakfast this morning. I used nonfat Greek yogurt because it's what I had. I thought the thick consistency of the batter would make for dense muffins, but they were very light, moist and delicious. I only had several small lemons, which I used, but next time I'm sure the two large lemons will yield the right amount of lemony-ness. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Awesome lemon flavor!! I only had one lg lemon which I juiced and got 1/3c lemon juice. I grated the rind into the wet ingredients-maybe a tsp or so. I added bottled lemon juice to make 1/2 c total (I had read that the avg lemon has about 1/4c juice) I think fresh lemon made all the difference. Next time I will use 2 fresh lemons. I ended up with a ton of batter so I made 18 muffins, which turned out somewhat small so next time I'll make 12. The taste of these is amazing- moist and lemony!! I'll never use a mix again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States