Lemony Lentils with Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Very flavorful! Used 1/2 tsp dried thyme instead of fresh sprigs, but left everything else exactly the same. It's a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
This is my go-to recipe when I'm craving comfort food but want to eat healthy. It's a great one-pot dish and is filling and flavourful enough that I can convince my boyfriend to go meat-free for a meal (well, almost - if you don't count the chicken stock!). Instead of a crusty baguette, I scoop it up with pumpkin seed and oat ryvita crispbreads. It's even better the next day for leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Very Good! I wanted to use up what I had on hand so I made a few substitutions. I had just over 8oz of lentils, so I added them all. I did not have canned tomato so I diced one large tomato and put a second large tomato in the food processor until it was a lumpy consistency. Because I substituted fresh tomato and added extra lentils, I had to add a cup of water as well. I did not have Kale and omitted this ingredient, I also omitted the red pepper flakes so that the kids could eat it. I used half of a squeezed lemon, which gave just the right amount of brightness to the flavor. I also used dried thyme. Flavors were delicious and I imagine even better the next day. Without the Kale, this is a great recipe to freeze and then reheat adding fresh kale later. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyMeals

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
pretty dang good! My daughter did NOT like this but both me & my husband did. I halved the lemon juice & red pepper flakes. I let everyone added more if they wanted it. I also used 1/2 cup less of broth. I also added a few sliced shrooms. Served it with quinoa and a baguette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Photo by mamamel
Reviewed: May 29, 2013
Very simple and good. I used dried thyme leaves and lemon juice, because that's all I had on hand. I love making lentils, so this was a good variation. This was my first time eating kale, and I liked it! It keeps its crunch; doesn't get slippery like spinach. Very mild flavor. My almost-3-year-old ate a whole bowl of this (I omitted the red pepper flakes because of her).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamamel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
I found a recipe in which I will actually eat kale, which I do not generally like, but I really liked this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Loved this recipe! Tasty, healthy and filling. I made changes to suit what I had availabe. Don't know if it was dinosaur kale - I just used a big thick leafy kale with red veins. If you fold the leaf in 1/2 you can cut right down the big middle rib to take it out. Then roll up the leaf and cut it up into strips that way. I also used 2 carrots instead of 1, and substituted 1/2 tsp of dried thyme leaves for the fresh. In step 2 - I used one 19 0z can of rinsed and drained lentils, then added them in with 1 x 19 0z can of diced undrained tomatos, skipped the chicken stock all together as my lentils were already cooked from being canned. Then after that heated up a few minutes I added the kale and cooked it for 5 minutes or so. I also only added a squeeze of fresh lemon juice as my boyfriend doesn't like a strong lemon flavor and you could still taste the lemon with the juice from 1/2 of a lemon in this. Was still excellent with these changes and ready in a much shorter timeframe so was very easy and fast to get this on the table. 15-20 minutes from start to finish. I also served it with a baked chicken breast and toasted ciabiatta buns. It would go very well with pork also if you wanted to add meat to your plate. But this recipe is very good on its own too! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This is the first recipe I have ever reviewed, out of hundreds tried. Thought it would be worth my time and to help premote the reviews I have to say this is quick, easy and healthy and very very tasty! It's a keeper. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I made this for dinner last night. Totally divine! I followed the directions but here are the minor changes that I made: I didn't have fresh thyme so I substituted approx 1/2 t of dried thyme, rosemary and italian seasoning. I also threw in some mushrooms since I had some laying around. I also used red lentils instead of green because that's what I had. This tastes so good - the lemony citrus with the pepper flakes makes such a great combinations. I suspicious husband tried it gingerly - and ended up going back for more twice! I highly recommend!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owosso, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I wouldn't change a thing about this recipe. It's very flavorful, fresh and the red pepper gives it just the right kick/warmth. It's perfect for a cold, winter night when you want something hearty but also healthy. Had two bowls right off the bat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

How to Make Braised Black Lentils

See how to make black lentils braised in chicken stock.

Roasted Yam and Kale Salad

This healthy salad offers a wonderful contrast of flavors and textures.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States