Lemony Lentils with Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I have been making a soup similar to this for years. I only rated 4 because the lemon was too much. I think there is enough acidity in the canned tomatoes. I would suggest that a squeeze of lemon be added according to individual taste. The kale can easily be substituted for fresh chopped spinach. But definitely the cumin is essential. I added a tsp while cooking. Good recipe and full of nutrition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
This is one of my favorite recipes. I'm vegetarian and my husband is vegan. Instead of using chicken stock, I just use water. I add a little bit of cumin to add more flavor. The vitamin C in the lemon, kale, and tomatoes helps your body absorb the protein and iron. (Plant based iron and protein is harder to absorb.) there is so much nutrition in this dish with no compromise on flavor. I highly recommend it. It's pretty easy to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
It's delicious. Didn't have dinosaur kale but replaced with regular kale instead. Can't stop eating it. Two thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moundsville, West Virginia, USA
Living In: West Finley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
this is really good! Definitely a keeper and going in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reston, Virginia, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
So yummy but could use a little more flavor- next time I will be adding some rosemary :) I made it with water instead of chicken broth and was totally fine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Really great side dish - I used dried thyme and added one jalapeño (omitted the red pepper flakes) to add some color and heat. I also added two more carrots. This could be a great meal if you add some roasted sweet potato and/or grilled mushrooms! Some reviewers complained about the lentils being mushy. To prevent this, check them at 30-35mins. Mine were ready to eat after only a half hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rpariser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I love lentils and kale so this was a great flavorful combination. I would add a little less lemon at first and see if you need to add more. I thought it was good but my husband said it was too lemony. I also added grilled chicken for extra protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Edina, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Delish! I used green tomatillo salsa (about 1/3 cup) and omitted the lemon since the salsa is tart. Also added a little cornstarch thickener at the end to get consistency I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Delicious, used brown lentils because that's what I had. Added a couple more carrots. Other than that, followed recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Really enjoyed this last night. I added a drained & rinsed can of cannelloni beans, as well. I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

How to Make Braised Black Lentils

See how to make black lentils braised in chicken stock.

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States