Lemony Cheesecake Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
What a super springboard to an easy, tasty recipe! I had a pre-made 9" chocolate graham biscuit shell to use up, so I wanted less volume. I used 1 (8oz) package cream cheese, softened; one can (10 oz) Sweetened Condensed Milk; TWO eggs; --add one at a time and beat well; and 1/8 c orange juice. Also, I took 1 cup of frozen cranberries, 4 T of brown and white sugar (in total) and a little water. I set the cranberries to simmer until they burst and it was nice and bubbly. The cranberries were spread over the shell, then the cream cheese mixture. Baked about 30 - 40 minutes. Meanwhile, I took an orange coloured jam (I had peach) and mixed in a little water to make a 'glaze'. After the pie had cooled, I dusted it with cocoa powder (to match the chocolate shell), drizzled the glaze on top, and garnished the centre with orange rind strips and orange zest. Very successful at the Christmas party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
These were yummy- I made them last night and my boyfriend & his friends gobbled them up! They were very creamy & I loved the lemon flavor in a cheesecake! I will definitely make again, and probably use this recipe as a base for other types of cheesecake bars I'll whip up in the future, substituting some other flavor for the lemon- maybe strawberry? ummmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RachGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
These were good but next time I'd try a different recipe. I think the sweetened condensed milk diluted the cheesecake flavor I love so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sussex, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
I put chopped pecans on the top before baking for a nuttier taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
I omitted pecans, made a normal graham cracker crust (kids). Was surprised how well it came out using sweetened cond. milk, it seemed unusual. It was so easy and they came out great. I had to cook them about 10 extra minutes. Topped with cherry pie filling. To quote my 7yr old "I love it Mom, I love it!".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
I confess I had the idea making these when I saw the picture. They're as good as they look! I didn't have Graham crackers crumbs and I used Ladyfingers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2004
I made this for christmas party and everyone loved it. I'm making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hinesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
This is a creamy dreamy lemon cheesecake bar and SO easy to make. Instead of the graham crackers I used vanilla wafers. I think either way it would turn out delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ande16

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasanton, California, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA
Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2004
I love this recipe! I've made it twice. Both times used low-fat condensed milk and a mix of low-fat and regular cream cheese. Delicious and creamy. I don't add sugar to the crust (I figure graham crackers are sweet enough). I've also never added the nuts since I was serving it to a crowd. I love the light, refreshing flavor of these bars! *** Made these again using organic lemon-ginger sandwhich cookies (omit sugar) and just a touch of butter and walnuts for the crust. (Mixed it up in my food processor). When serving, topped with a dollop of lemon curd from Trader Joe's. They taste even better this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2003
This recipie is delicious no matter how bad you muck it up! I am a beginning baker and this always turns out delicious but I find that this recipie doesent call for enough margarine and sugar to hold together the crust. Besides that, not too tart, not too sweet. Just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASPENWALL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rochester, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States