Lemongrass Coconut Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I was really looking forward to this and was sadly disappointed. I followed the directions other than using 1 tbsp dried lemongrass instead of the fresh because that's what I had. The texture was fine (I added about 1 cup extra water per other reviews) but the taste was pretty bad. It somehow had a bitter undertaste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oneida, New York, USA
Living In: Oswego, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Great recipe - worked really well. I do wish that people would stop rating a recipe badly, when they haven't actually followed the instructions, or even used the ingredients as recommended
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
I thoroughly enjoyed this recipe. I had problems cooking rice in coconut milk with another recipe I tried, so I cooked the rice with water and 1/2 tsp of salt as I usually do, along with the rest of the ingredients except the coconut milk. When the rice was done, I added in the coconut milk. This probably made it have more of a creamy texture then the original recipe, but it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
This is really good, but I had to add a significant amount of salt, and I added some fresh cilantro once the rice was finished cooking. Next time I'll add extra lemongrass.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kinsman, Ohio, USA
Living In: Liverpool, Merseyside, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
I followed the recipe except I used brown basmati (with more liquid) and cooked it in the rice cooker. The color and aroma were lovely but the finished dish was a disappointment. It wasn't distinctive at all and with the additional fat and calories from the coconut milk I wanted bigger flavors. I might try it again with less coconut milk and more water for the brown rice, or use jasmine rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
This has potential. I found that the tumeric was not quite strong enough so I added 2 tbsp of curry powder. The rice would just not soften. It was burning the bottom of the pan. I kept having to add water which made it eventually lose taste. Next time I think I will try having pre-cooked rice and then adding the ingrdients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberC2

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
Very appealing and fragrant! I love trying new tastes and foods so this was even more of treat. I'm hooked on lemongrass now. I did change the recipe based on comments and a friends' advice. I used one tin of coconut milk and two cups of instant rice. Not a fan of instant anything but this may be the first time this stuff turned out perfectly. Also, I can't stand bay leaves and left them out. This is definitely a pot luck dish. Thank you MrsElaineous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
I was in a hurry so I used about 2 Tablespoons of prepared lemon grass (not the stalks). Also added a pinch each of white sugar and salt. Used a rice cooker, but did not treat the coconut milk as liquid since it usually absorbs quickly without cooking the rice. Therefore, I still added the usual amount of water. Also don't use curry powder, tumeric has a much stronger flavor, but I doubled the amount stated here. I skipped the bay leaves since I was out of them, but wonder how they might have changed the flavor. The rice was fragrant and all flavors worked together wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malvern, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I was very disappointed by this recipe. It was very bland overall. I could taste the lemongrass but not the coconut milk. Just like another reviewer described, the rice cooked way too fast even at a very low temperature and stuck to the bottom of the pan. I had to add 1 cup of water for the rice to finish cooking w/o burning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I had a hard time with this recipe! The cocomut milk was very thick, I used curry powder instead of turmeric,which I think would have been OK. It cooked much quicker than the recipe suggested, even at a very low heat and it was very dry because the moisture was gone before the rice was fully cooked. I had planned to take it to our church Christmas party but ended up throwing it out, even after keeping it overnight, thinking I might be able to doctor it up a little. I love lemongrass and coconot milk together as in Thai food so I might try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Del Mar, California, USA
Living In: Grove City, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

How to Make Perfect White Rice

Discover the simple tricks to making perfect rice without a rice cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States