Lemonade Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2004
This pie is great just the way it is, but if anyone has read my reviews, you know I can't leave well enough alone, so... I added a box of dry instant lemon pudding for more body, then took lemon sandwich cookies, put them through my food processor to fine crumbs (where DOES that filling go??) then took 1 1/2 (or more) cups of the crumbs with about 5 TLB (or more) melted butter and made my crust out of that. Then took a couple spoonfuls cookie crumbs and sprinkled on top. AWESOME!! (And I don't even like lemon pie). To be even more different, take 4 oz. softened cream cheese mixed well with 1/2 confectioner's sugar and spread this in the bottom of your chilled crust before putting in the lemon mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2003
The women in my family have been whipping this up for years and it is STILL a favorite at get togethers. It's also SO easy and quick that we tend to make it just to cure a sweet tooth! To make it virtually fat free is simple. Use fat free Eagle Brand milk and fat free cool whip! Don't worry about the taste of the fat free Eagle Brand--it's DELISH! The consistency is a little bit thinner than regular EB, but when the pie's chilled, you can't tell a bit of difference! We always have trouble finding the 6 oz can of lemonade, too. So we use a 12 oz and just make ourselves "suffer" through two pies;) The filling of this pie is so good that we've often joked of just whipping it up and eating it as a pudding. Hey, a few crumbled graham crackers and I think it'd be a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
I made this pie for a club meeting and doubled the recipe to get 2 pies. I used pink lemonade and added a dash of red food coloring to enhance the color. My guests absolutely raved about it. I used purchased graham cracker crusts and had lots of filling to mound up. I did not freeze it as others suggested and the texture was wonderful. Not runny at all. One thing I did was to mix the condensed milk and lemonade thoroughly before adding the whipped topping. I will definitely make it again and would like to try lime concentrate next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
This is achingly sweet, but always popular. Instead of a graham cracker crust, I usually make it with a homemade one consisting of 60 Ritz crackers, crushed, 1/2 cup butter, melted 3/4 cup powdered sugar combined and sprinkled in the bottom of a 9-inch square pan. It isn't firm like a graham cracker crust, but the salty/sweet combination is good with the tart/sweet filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2000
I've been making this recipe for a few years now and it is requested for all holidays and get-togethers. I love it because it's SO quick and easy. I use a shortbread crust most of the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
Also known as "Eagle Brand" pie when I was a kid, this one is so easy and foolproof. I agree with other reviewers that it tastes the best and has a better consistency if it is kept in the freezer. Also, like others have mentioned, a gingersnap crust works great with this pie. For those who think the concentrate makes it too sweet, add some fresh squeezed lemon juice to subtitute for some of the concentrate for a tangier lemon taste. After slicing, serve with fresh strawberries and blueberries--great for 4th of July!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
Yummy! I used rasberry lemonade concentrate, fat free cool whip and froze the pie instead of just chilling it. To make sure the pie doesn't get soupy, chill the condensed milk and make sure the concentrate is still frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Curly Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2005
YUMMY for lemon pie!! Perfect recipe and sooo easy! My hubby isn't big on lemon pie, but man, oh man, I can eat this whole thing by myself! LOL! Use low fat condensed milk, lite whipped topping, and a low fat pie crust to make it better for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLY99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
I have made this many times and everyone who has had it LOVED it. I have never had trouble with it being runny. I think if you mix it to much will make it runny.Also if you set your cool whip out to long the pie more than likely will not set up well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I only gave this four stars because I found it a too sweet. Since I prefer a little more tartness to my lemon pies, I made this again using unsweeted whipped cream instead of the sweetened whipped topping. Just whip two cups whipping cream until it makes soft peaks and fold into the sweetened condensed milk lemonade mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States