Lemonade Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2000
Moist, lemony and absolutely delicious. Instead of poking the cake with a fork, I used a wooden skewer and poked holes on top of the cake making sure to poke all the way down to the platter I placed the cake on, therefore the glaze ran down inside the cake. The glaze is so simple to make using thawed lemonade. Great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2004
I made this cake for a Father's Day dinner, and everyone loved it. BUT!! I accidently had limeade instead of lemonade, but decided to use it anyway. (Measured it out when thawed since this was a large can). It was excellent. I was real leary of the pouring this on top of the cake, but it was fine. I also iced this, but cheated somewhat. I took a tub of white butter cream icing, heated it in the mircowave until melted, then added 3 TLB leftover limeade and 1/2 cup, give or take a little, confectioner's sugar, mixed well, and while still warm poured over the top of the cake. When it set up it had a nice semi-glossy sheen, perfectly smooth, and was great! This cake was the hit of the dessert table and I will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This is a delicious cake. It is VERY sweet so be prepared. The only modification I made was that I used confectioner sugar instead of granulated. I also did NOT use the whole can of lemonade ... only about 1/2. Overall it was a good cake. it would pair nice with homemade whipped cream to tone down the sweetness. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikkii

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Middletown, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
Wow - this was SO good! The only change I made was to use confectioners sugar with the lemonade concentrate. The cake was very lemony and extremely moist and everyone loved it. Will definitely make again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
Great cake. I used 2 cups powdered sugar and 8 ounces of the concentrate for the glaze per another recipe and it was much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Linden, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
This is a big crowd pleaser, perfect for picnics and pot lucks. I make the following changes to keep with an old family recipe - make as a sheet cake - use powdered sugar for the glaze, not white granulated sugar, I use about 1&1/2 cups or more - add until you have a tasty and silky consistancy. - after you take out the cake crank the oven up to 400 degrees then put the glazed cake in for 5 mins. It make the glaze a little crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie A

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muskegon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Calabasas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
This is an excellent lemon cake. Very easy and very good! The only thing I did differently was I heated up the sugar/lemonade mixture in the microwave so that the sugar would dissolve. I also used a wooden skewer to poke the cake. Thanks, Denise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Yummy! I made this cake because it sounded so good and I just love lemon. I wasn't disappointed. Like another reviewer, I did warm the lemonade and sugar in a saucepan before pouring over the cake to dissolve the sugar. I took half of it over to a neighbor, who has now asked for the recipe. Another conquest! Thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
Wonderful! I've made this 4 times in the last 3 weeks, and it's come out perfect every time. I've taken it to several summer pitch-ins, and everyone loves it. It stays fresh and moist for several days ... hard to tell how long, since we eat any leftovers pretty quick! I used one of the new "plastic" bundt cake pans, and it worked great ... and no greasing or flouring the pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leigh Ann Rowan Kiraly
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Made this recipe just like it is stated except I used powered sugar in the glaze. This is a delicious memory from my childhood as my grandmother made this cake often. My own family loves it and what a treat when I can serve it with fresh sliced strawberries on the side when they're in season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh Ann Rowan Kiraly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States