Lemonade Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
It's a cake mix recipe people!!...Cake mix!! IF this was a home-made cake that came out TASTING like it was boxed...I would understand the comments but it is what it is...a boxed cake recipe! Now, my cake stuck as well and I would probably suggest next time (since I am not the only victim) that after 5 minutes--remove cake from pan, place back into the pan, poke & THEN add glaze. Let cake cool. Cake should be fine after that. Stuck or not, I will DEFINITELY make this again! This is a nice, lemony, moist cake which is exactly what I want in my Lemon Cakes. I added fresh lemon zest to my batter. Please--Don't be put off by these comments about 'boxed taste'. Just be sure to use Brand Name products for best results. For baking, that should be a habit anyway. Personally, I love & commend fellow bakers who create "Doctored' Cake mix recipes. They're quick sweet treats for picnics, potlucks or when you want to take THAT recipe a bit further with your own imagination. I wish we would judge from that perspective. For the 2/3/2007 review...It takes a lot of 'chutzpah' to rate someone's recipe lower because you (and you ADMIT it) "were GOING to pass it off as home-made but the taste of the mix and the pudding came through. Hence the 4 stars." (unquote) WOW! Let me say that again...WOW! Translation: "I give it low marks because I CAN'T lie that I made it home-made". Trust me people...all will be impressed you made a cake mix cake--taste this good. WOW--(again).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
If you like lemon meringue pie, you'll love this cake. I dropped the amount of sugar to 1/2 cup, as previous reviewers recommended, and heated the lemonade and sugar in the microwave for a minute to totally dissolve the sugar before pouring it on the cake. What a tangy, flavorful, simple cake! Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
This cake is excellent to pull out of the frig on a hot day! I baked mine in 2 round cake pans. I placed one on a cake plate, poked the holes & poured topping, then placed the other on top and did the same. I combined the left over lemonade with powdered sugar and poured over the whole cake...wish I had poured some between the layers too. I decorated it with sliced lemons. The cake is extremely moist, beautiful, and everyone loved it. It is going in my list of favorites! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
This recipe is sweet. I mean, really, really sweet. Almost too sweet. And I'm the girl who eats brown sugar out of the box with a spoon, so when I think something's too sweet, that's saying something. The cake was definitely well-received - I served it with fresh strawberries, like another reviewer on this site - but I think we all felt a little dirty afterward, like we'd just eaten a meal composed entirely of Nerds dipped in pre-sweetened Kool-Aid and wrapped in Laffy Taffy. I think that the glaze was really what sent it over-the-top. Concentrated lemonade is already pretty sweet, so adding sugar really ups the cavity-factor. If I make it again - which I very well might, since I love lemon anything - I might try making a glaze from lemon juice and sugar, or just using the lemonade without extra sugar. Still, not a bad recipe. (By the way, one of the earlier reviewers was right when they said that they could taste the mix here; with all of the pre-prepared foods involved, you won't be able to pass this off as a scratch cake. Which is not necessarily a bad thing, just something you might want to keep in mind.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
I do a lot of baking, and this is my most requested cake. I've even had people pay me to bake them! So simple! Sometimes I add lemon zest to the cake batter if I want to be fancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dori

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
Made this in a bundt pan. I think it could have baked for 50-55 minutes. It was very golden. Great lemony flavor! Used sugar-free Jello and 1/2 cup egg beaters and 2 eggs. Was trying to cut carbs, but did use regular sugar for the glaze because I wasn't sure how Splenda would work. Also, when spooning the glaze on, if you do it slowly it gives it a chance to soak in. Before serving, filled the center with whole strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2000
H boy, oh boy is this ever great. Moist, sweet and lemony, at the same time. Everyone asks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2002
I made this cake for a summertime baby shower, and it was a HUGE hit! I used Lemon icing, and it was to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I just tried this recipe. Like is says, I left the cake in the pan and put the lemonade glaze on top. I let it cool completely like it said. There was no way to get the cake out of the pan without it falling apart. Yes, I did grease and flour the pan. I'm guessing the other people took the cake out of the pan and then put the glaze on top. It does taste very good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
This is a great, easy cake. Very tart and moist with a good lemon flavor. I served it with homemade whipped cream--delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States