Lemonade Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I just tried this recipe. Like is says, I left the cake in the pan and put the lemonade glaze on top. I let it cool completely like it said. There was no way to get the cake out of the pan without it falling apart. Yes, I did grease and flour the pan. I'm guessing the other people took the cake out of the pan and then put the glaze on top. It does taste very good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MomTo6
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
This is a great recipe...very lemony, very fresh for summer baking, and EASY!! Honestly, most of you out there will know it's from a box....but, ultimately, I believe your family and guests will love it. This is the perfect summer time light dessert when you don't want to spend a lot of time in the kitchen. My 14 year old son made this for our family and guests - everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomTo6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
This cake was a huge hit! I used less sugar for the glaze, and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Very flavorful and zesty just as a lemon cake should be. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
Excellent lemon cake. I mix the lemonade with confectioners sugar, rather than white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I've made a recipe very similar to this before. It was my grandmother's recipe that she made often when my dad and his brothers were growing up and was a favourite of theirs. This is an excellent recipe--it's very sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sonnet116

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
If you like lemon meringue pie, you'll love this cake. I dropped the amount of sugar to 1/2 cup, as previous reviewers recommended, and heated the lemonade and sugar in the microwave for a minute to totally dissolve the sugar before pouring it on the cake. What a tangy, flavorful, simple cake! Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
I do a lot of baking, and this is my most requested cake. I've even had people pay me to bake them! So simple! Sometimes I add lemon zest to the cake batter if I want to be fancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dori

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
This recipe is sweet. I mean, really, really sweet. Almost too sweet. And I'm the girl who eats brown sugar out of the box with a spoon, so when I think something's too sweet, that's saying something. The cake was definitely well-received - I served it with fresh strawberries, like another reviewer on this site - but I think we all felt a little dirty afterward, like we'd just eaten a meal composed entirely of Nerds dipped in pre-sweetened Kool-Aid and wrapped in Laffy Taffy. I think that the glaze was really what sent it over-the-top. Concentrated lemonade is already pretty sweet, so adding sugar really ups the cavity-factor. If I make it again - which I very well might, since I love lemon anything - I might try making a glaze from lemon juice and sugar, or just using the lemonade without extra sugar. Still, not a bad recipe. (By the way, one of the earlier reviewers was right when they said that they could taste the mix here; with all of the pre-prepared foods involved, you won't be able to pass this off as a scratch cake. Which is not necessarily a bad thing, just something you might want to keep in mind.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amy
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
I generally don't care for lemon flavored cakes, but this was the exception. I made it for Easter dessert and it was very tangy, sweet and delightful. My kids and husband also loved it. I changed absolutely nothing about this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sneedville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States