Lemonade Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
This is very similar to a recipe I recieved from my Grandmother. The Icing is powdered sugar 2c., and juice of two lemons mixed together. It gives it a really nice tart/ sweet flavor. I also do it as a sheet cake. it turns out really well. Her recipe also has you mix the gelatin dry in with cake mix. Its really simple and so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I just tried this recipe. Like is says, I left the cake in the pan and put the lemonade glaze on top. I let it cool completely like it said. There was no way to get the cake out of the pan without it falling apart. Yes, I did grease and flour the pan. I'm guessing the other people took the cake out of the pan and then put the glaze on top. It does taste very good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MomTo6
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
This is a great recipe...very lemony, very fresh for summer baking, and EASY!! Honestly, most of you out there will know it's from a box....but, ultimately, I believe your family and guests will love it. This is the perfect summer time light dessert when you don't want to spend a lot of time in the kitchen. My 14 year old son made this for our family and guests - everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomTo6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
This cake was a huge hit! I used less sugar for the glaze, and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Very flavorful and zesty just as a lemon cake should be. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
Excellent lemon cake. I mix the lemonade with confectioners sugar, rather than white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I've made a recipe very similar to this before. It was my grandmother's recipe that she made often when my dad and his brothers were growing up and was a favourite of theirs. This is an excellent recipe--it's very sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sonnet116

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
If you like lemon meringue pie, you'll love this cake. I dropped the amount of sugar to 1/2 cup, as previous reviewers recommended, and heated the lemonade and sugar in the microwave for a minute to totally dissolve the sugar before pouring it on the cake. What a tangy, flavorful, simple cake! Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
I do a lot of baking, and this is my most requested cake. I've even had people pay me to bake them! So simple! Sometimes I add lemon zest to the cake batter if I want to be fancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dori

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
This recipe is sweet. I mean, really, really sweet. Almost too sweet. And I'm the girl who eats brown sugar out of the box with a spoon, so when I think something's too sweet, that's saying something. The cake was definitely well-received - I served it with fresh strawberries, like another reviewer on this site - but I think we all felt a little dirty afterward, like we'd just eaten a meal composed entirely of Nerds dipped in pre-sweetened Kool-Aid and wrapped in Laffy Taffy. I think that the glaze was really what sent it over-the-top. Concentrated lemonade is already pretty sweet, so adding sugar really ups the cavity-factor. If I make it again - which I very well might, since I love lemon anything - I might try making a glaze from lemon juice and sugar, or just using the lemonade without extra sugar. Still, not a bad recipe. (By the way, one of the earlier reviewers was right when they said that they could taste the mix here; with all of the pre-prepared foods involved, you won't be able to pass this off as a scratch cake. Which is not necessarily a bad thing, just something you might want to keep in mind.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States