Lemonade Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Delicious! I used sugar-free Jello and cut the white sugar content in half for the glaze and it was still plenty sweet. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Turned out GREAT for me. I baked it for only 50 minutes and cut the sugar to 1/2 cup. The reviewer that said it tasted like boxed pudding didn't follow the recipe (I almost made the same mistake). It calls for a 3 ounce box of lemon Jello, not pudding. I'm sure that would change the taste and push it in a different direction. I'm thinking the Jello would provide a better flavor than the pudding mix. Thx, Patty for providing this great recipe. I'll be making it again next summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
I made the cake as instructed. Only change I made was I added a glaze of lemonade and powder sugar and drizzeled it over the top. The sauce you pour over the cake after it bakes - well the part that got on the outside of the cake was gritty when you ate it. I did not think the cake was more moist than any other box cake. Although it was liked by those who ate it, I feel it fell short of my expectations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hazelwood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
First, I baked in a convection oven in the greased and floured bundt pan and have to say, the cake was done at 45 minutes. It was even slightly burned, but still came out moist and delicious. I do think it might be best with a lemon glaze made of powdered sugar and lemonade. Maybe cut the syrup part in half and use only that to soak up. I love lemon anything, so this cake was a big hit. Package taste or not, this is a big hit. I will make it again with the modifications and reduce baking time for my oven. Will report back then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Easy and very lemony!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jada

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crawfordville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dawsonville, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
The first time and the second time, I made this cake it came out burned on the outside. I made it again and pre-heated the oven to 300 degrees. It came out perfectly and it was very moist and delicous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennica
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Something didn't go well for me with this recipe. It was sort of confusing whether or not I was to make the cake as it was directed on the box then add all the stuff. I also accidentally made the jello as you normally would, and the cake looked really good but turned out really bad! My dad compared it to the texture of tofu. It tasted like metal. I think I will try Lemonade Cake I in the near future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
It's a cake mix recipe people!!...Cake mix!! IF this was a home-made cake that came out TASTING like it was boxed...I would understand the comments but it is what it is...a boxed cake recipe! Now, my cake stuck as well and I would probably suggest next time (since I am not the only victim) that after 5 minutes--remove cake from pan, place back into the pan, poke & THEN add glaze. Let cake cool. Cake should be fine after that. Stuck or not, I will DEFINITELY make this again! This is a nice, lemony, moist cake which is exactly what I want in my Lemon Cakes. I added fresh lemon zest to my batter. Please--Don't be put off by these comments about 'boxed taste'. Just be sure to use Brand Name products for best results. For baking, that should be a habit anyway. Personally, I love & commend fellow bakers who create "Doctored' Cake mix recipes. They're quick sweet treats for picnics, potlucks or when you want to take THAT recipe a bit further with your own imagination. I wish we would judge from that perspective. For the 2/3/2007 review...It takes a lot of 'chutzpah' to rate someone's recipe lower because you (and you ADMIT it) "were GOING to pass it off as home-made but the taste of the mix and the pudding came through. Hence the 4 stars." (unquote) WOW! Let me say that again...WOW! Translation: "I give it low marks because I CAN'T lie that I made it home-made". Trust me people...all will be impressed you made a cake mix cake--taste this good. WOW--(again).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
This is very similar to a recipe I recieved from my Grandmother. The Icing is powdered sugar 2c., and juice of two lemons mixed together. It gives it a really nice tart/ sweet flavor. I also do it as a sheet cake. it turns out really well. Her recipe also has you mix the gelatin dry in with cake mix. Its really simple and so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States