Lemonade Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Delicious. I added some lemon extract (1 tsp) and a tsp. of lemon rind and it was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I made this cake for my Birthday, and it is fantastic. I also substituted splenda for the sugar and used sugarfree jello, and it still tasted great. Nobody knew. I grated a little lemon zest into the batter. If you use "Baker's Joy" spray, your cakes will always fall right out of the pan. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
I baked this cake for a dinner party. The recipe was quick and easy...just what I was looking for. I think I took it out of the pan too soon though because it stuck and fell apart...even though I used a non-stick pan and cooking spray. I put it back together the best I could and cut it into slices. It was a hit with my guests, none of which can tell a box cake from a scratch cake anyway. I did heat the lemonade mixture and probably will cut the sugar next time as it was very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leoyak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Taste was awesome, but mine fell. It had a canyon all the way around. I live at 4500 feet. I'm thinking I should try it again and add 1/4 cup flour to the batter. Any ideas from the high altitude bakers?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gillette, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
this cake was very good - nice and moist. unfortunately it stuck to the pan when I went to flip it out so it wasn't as pretty as it could have been but it tasted good either way! there was too much of the glaze -- i only used about half of it - it pooled around the bottom of the cake, so i let it be. You could taste a little bit of bitterness from the pudding or the cake mix - need to try to find a recipe that actually uses lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spacedcowgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Lemonade you eat and not drink! Love this cake. I always add a teaspoon of vanilla to the batter. You can vary the amount of glaze you use on top. IF you really want a lemon kick, save half of the lemon glaze, add powdered sugar (to your desired consistecy) and drizzle over cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pink Buttercream Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
This was a delicious cake! The only thing I was confused on was the lemonade. There ARE NO 6oz cans of lemonade in my area. But with all the talk of the sugar, I decided to use just half the can, and cut the sugar to 1/4 cup. Made the glaze nice and tangy. But then, I second-guessed myself, and decided that they MUST be talking about the WHOLE can of lemonade, so I added 1/4 cup of sugar to the remaining 6oz, and poured that over, as well. NOPE! 12oz is just TOO MUCH glaze for this. But it's STILL very good, and moist. I also noted what someone else suggested, and heated the lemonade so that the sugar would dissolve into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I think part of it is just a preference on taste. I like lemon and thought this sounded delicious, but to me it was almost like eating straight lemon pudding-just the flavor aspect. It turned out beautiful and I followed the directions to a "T" but our family did not enjoy at all. I needs something, but I just dont know what. I really wanted to like it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Absolutly an amazing cake! I made it in cupcake form for my sons first birthday and decorated them as little ducks!! What a hit!! I think that it has been made apparent that this is a box cake. Though if one does not enjoy box cakes I'm sure there is another recipe that will please you. Simply just a great cake with simply ingredance you can wip up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
This was very moist but a bit too lemony for me. I would try it again but maybe reduce the amount of lemonade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawnd93

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Michigan, USA
Living In: Oxford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States