Lemon Zucchini Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
I was a bit disappointed after reading the reviews. I thought the lemon actually detracted from the overall taste of the zucchini bread. The texture was very good and moist, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cornville, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2013
I used 1/2 c applesauce and 1/4 c oil. I used 2 egg whites and half sugar half splenda. I also subbed 1 small box of lemon pudding mix for 1/2 c of flour. I did not have trouble getting this to rise as some people did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Evie
Reviewed: May 14, 2013
I am being premature, perhaps (as this recipe has yet to be tasted. . .in the oven, right now), but I am a big fan of it already. We LOVE lemon as an ingredient around this house, and the addition of lemon to zucchini bread is something that I have done as an add-on with recipes like this before. I went a little further, adding the juice of 1/2 lemon, as well. I also added a small container of vanilla yogurt, as the batter seemed a bit dry. I had doubled the recipe to make 2 loaves, and it seemed to "need something" in the doubling of it. I really enjoy recipes for quick bread that stay true to the "quick" part of it -- a wet bowl and a dry bowl, period. I don't want to haul out mixers or sift (and I didn't do that part of this one, either). I want rustic and tasty. Let's see if this ones is the winner of all of the zucchini breads that I have tried over the years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Evie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Moist and delicious. I used a half-and-half mix of whole wheat flour and white flour and it tastes great! Next time I think I'll try brown sugar instead of white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
This was amazing! I followed suggestions that others made - don't beat the zucchini with the wet ingredients. Just add it to that mixture, then stir in the flour mixture till blended. I used a full tablespoon of lemon zest, and added 1/2 tsp. of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
OMG, this is soooo yummy! I like my pumpkin/banana/zucchini breads to be super-moist and not too "bread-y," so I used 2 small zucchini (about 1/2 cup more than the recipe calls for) and substituted unsweetened applesauce for half the oil...I didn't measure the lemon zest either, just zested one whole lemon. YIKES! Utterly, sinfully, irresistably delicious! THANK YOU for sharing this recipe; I will never need to search for another! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Greenwood, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
I didn't have lemon zest, but this seemed like a good base recipe so I thought I'd give it a try. I also liked that this is proportioned for one loaf. I substituted brown sugar for the white, used 1/2 cup multigrain flour with 1 cup unbleached AP flour, and added 1/2 cup chopped frozen cranberries and 1/2 cup chopped pecans. My zucchini was about 1 cup drained, after defrosting (I grate it and freeze it in one cup measures when in season). It took 1 hour at 350F to bake fully, in an 8 x 4 pan. The loaf has a nice texture, not heavy or too dense, and the cranberries offset the sweetness, which I'm guessing the lemon zest would do as well. I will definitely try this one again and use the lemon zest, and maybe throw in some blueberries or raspberries next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
This was really good, The whole family loved it! The lemon gives it a good zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
My kids love this zucchini bread and they are extremely picky eaters. I do not keep lemon zest on hand, so i just add a little lemon juice to it. Also, I have found that if I totally shred the zucchini in the food processor, vs just grating it, the bread comes out much moister. I shred the zucchini so much that it looks like mush and you can see the fluids. Makes the bread very very moist. If you want to make this recipe even lower fat than it already is, you can replace 1/2 the veg oil with applesauce and you can not taste the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 340) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States