Lemon Zucchini Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2000
I baked this recipe in a well greased bundt pan for about 45 minutes - it was awesome - not your typical zucchini bread. I used the grated rind and juice of one lemon. I could eat the whole thing but I won't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
Light and lucious - Didn't peel the zucchini which left the bars with "green things" but didn't affect the taste. I freeze the correct amount of grated zucchini with the lemon rind and during the winter I've got a head start on these bars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Luck, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
This was very good. I only used half the oil and 1/2 cup applesauce in place of all the oil and I always use whole wheat pastry flour. Used 3/4 cup of sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar splenda for baking in place of all the sugar. It was moist, and so delicious. Will make this one again! I baked in a bundt pan for 45 minutes and topped it with a little powdered sugar and lemon juice mixed. MMM, delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Napoleon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Simply put, WOW!!! I did not make many alterations, as I like to try a recipe pretty much as written the first time. I did sub 1/2 of the sugar with Splenda, as I'm diabetic, and every little bit helps. I added 1 cup of halved fresh cranberries, and the color/tartness ratcheted up the taste to stellar! The red from the cranberries and green flecks from the zucchini made it quite festive looking. That little kick of tartness from the berries made the lemon flavor sing! I don't know why, but something told me to check on them about 10 minutes before the 45 minute alarm, and they were done, so only 35 minutes baking time was perfect. A toothpick in the center came out clean, and the center was firm to the touch. Be sure to disregard the baking times in the recipe and set your alarm for 35 to start. Overbaking could account for some of the tepid reviews. Please know they should turn out soft and moist, more like a cake than bars. After baking, I brushed on a glaze made from 2 Tb softened butter, 1 tsp fresh lemon juice, 1 tsp milk and 1 cup confectioners sugar, while they were still warm from the oven. It increased the fresh lemon flavor. This recipe is misnamed. It's really a cake, not bars. It did not taste remotely oily (and as a trained chef, I have a ridiculously sensitive palate,) so I'd suspect that those who found an oily taste were using either inferior or rancid oil. One taster exclaimed after a bite, "This is light as a feather!" Absolutely fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2000
Way to much vegtable oil. The oil is able to be tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by REDPONYGIRL
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
I also used a well greased and floured bundt pan for this recipe. It came out very well. I always use the rind when shredding the zucchini. It provides color and fiber for the diet. This cake was moist and tasty. I topped it with confectioners sugar as the recipe called for, but a light lemon flavored icing would be nice drizzled on top of the bundt cake, as an alternative. Suggestion: Orange zest and orange juice could be substituted for the lemon zest and lemon juice. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REDPONYGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Catawissa, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2000
A delicious new ay to use up zucchini-I made with frozen shredded zucchini-wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
I thought that this recipe was a refreshing change from the typical zucchini bread recipe. I took one of the other reviews suggestions and also used a bundt pan and baked for 45 min. In response to those who said that they could taste the oil, check your oil it's probably ransid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
i found this more like a cake-like brownie than bars, but it was very good and very moist. brought it to work and co-workers loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Yes, this is definitely a cake especially when you bake in a bundt pan as many did. I used 1/2 cup oil and and 1/2 cup applesauce. I used half white and half brown sugar. I also added a lil extra lemon juice and extra zucchini to the mix. I partially peeled the skin from the zucchini so there was just a bit of greenness flecked throughout. The cake baked up in about 40 minutes in my bundt pan (make sure you grease/flour it well). This morning I made a glaze out of confectioners sugar and the juice/zest of half a lemon. I drizzled on top of the cake and let it seep down into the cake adding extra flavor and moisture. The results were a great balance of sweetness; tartness and wetness. My coworkers are thoroughly enjoying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States