Lemon Zucchini Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
I thought that this recipe was a refreshing change from the typical zucchini bread recipe. I took one of the other reviews suggestions and also used a bundt pan and baked for 45 min. In response to those who said that they could taste the oil, check your oil it's probably ransid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
I strayed pretty far with my modifications for this recipe, but it was still pretty good. I used limes and lime zest in place of the lemons (the green from the zucchini and green from the limes go well together). I used 1/2 cup applesauce for 1/2 cup oil, half whole wheat flour, egg beaters, and 3/4 cup sugar (I wouldnt cut back because I dusted the top with confectioner's sugar at the end because it wasnt sweet enough). I baked mine in a jelly roll pan for only 20 minutes. I like how it came out very spongy and light. Next I will try this with lemon or orange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALYSSAVEG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
Wonderful...I used a smaller pan 8 X 11.5 and it was more cake like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by REDPONYGIRL
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
I also used a well greased and floured bundt pan for this recipe. It came out very well. I always use the rind when shredding the zucchini. It provides color and fiber for the diet. This cake was moist and tasty. I topped it with confectioners sugar as the recipe called for, but a light lemon flavored icing would be nice drizzled on top of the bundt cake, as an alternative. Suggestion: Orange zest and orange juice could be substituted for the lemon zest and lemon juice. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REDPONYGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Catawissa, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
Light and lucious - Didn't peel the zucchini which left the bars with "green things" but didn't affect the taste. I freeze the correct amount of grated zucchini with the lemon rind and during the winter I've got a head start on these bars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Luck, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
I made this in a jelly roll pan and cook it about 40 minutes. I made a lemon glaze with confectioner sugar and lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2004
More like a cake, but the flavors blended wonderfully. Was a great way to use up the zuc's, and everybody loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAILBAG
Home Town: Yamhill, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2004
I was very disappointed with this recipe. The flavors of the zucchini didn't blend with the lemon and there is a strong oil taste. I'm waiting to see if the flavor improves with time, but I doubt it. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Osakis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2004
Awesome tasting everyone loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
i found this more like a cake-like brownie than bars, but it was very good and very moist. brought it to work and co-workers loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States