Lemon Zucchini Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Maybe I did something wrong :( but I didn't like these. The taste was fine, but the texture was horrible! I have tons of zucchini so I might try again, but with more flour and less baking soda. I like a firmer, more cake like bar. These were too "airy" even for a lemon bar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Yes, this is definitely a cake especially when you bake in a bundt pan as many did. I used 1/2 cup oil and and 1/2 cup applesauce. I used half white and half brown sugar. I also added a lil extra lemon juice and extra zucchini to the mix. I partially peeled the skin from the zucchini so there was just a bit of greenness flecked throughout. The cake baked up in about 40 minutes in my bundt pan (make sure you grease/flour it well). This morning I made a glaze out of confectioners sugar and the juice/zest of half a lemon. I drizzled on top of the cake and let it seep down into the cake adding extra flavor and moisture. The results were a great balance of sweetness; tartness and wetness. My coworkers are thoroughly enjoying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
This turned out delicious! I subbed half the oil with unsweetened applesauce & half the sugar with a sugar substitute & my husband loved it! I also added 1/2 tsp lemon extract because I love lemon :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kyla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
This is more of a cake than a bar. Very lemony! Followed the recipe as is the first time and it was good. The second time I made it I replaced half the oil with applesauce, reduced the sugar by a quarter cup and the flour by half a cup, added a half cup of chocolate chips rather than the nuts. Liked it even better! Next time I will ice it with a thin layer of lemon cream cheese frosting and I think it will be perfect. Excellent way to use up some Zucchini!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Simply put, WOW!!! I did not make many alterations, as I like to try a recipe pretty much as written the first time. I did sub 1/2 of the sugar with Splenda, as I'm diabetic, and every little bit helps. I added 1 cup of halved fresh cranberries, and the color/tartness ratcheted up the taste to stellar! The red from the cranberries and green flecks from the zucchini made it quite festive looking. That little kick of tartness from the berries made the lemon flavor sing! I don't know why, but something told me to check on them about 10 minutes before the 45 minute alarm, and they were done, so only 35 minutes baking time was perfect. A toothpick in the center came out clean, and the center was firm to the touch. Be sure to disregard the baking times in the recipe and set your alarm for 35 to start. Overbaking could account for some of the tepid reviews. Please know they should turn out soft and moist, more like a cake than bars. After baking, I brushed on a glaze made from 2 Tb softened butter, 1 tsp fresh lemon juice, 1 tsp milk and 1 cup confectioners sugar, while they were still warm from the oven. It increased the fresh lemon flavor. This recipe is misnamed. It's really a cake, not bars. It did not taste remotely oily (and as a trained chef, I have a ridiculously sensitive palate,) so I'd suspect that those who found an oily taste were using either inferior or rancid oil. One taster exclaimed after a bite, "This is light as a feather!" Absolutely fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
The cake needs a cream cheese frosting to be 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
This is a pretty good recipe. I did expect more of a lemon flavor using 1/4 cup lemon juice and I did cut down on the sugar. Very moist. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
This was super easy to make and totally delicious. Maybe next time we will share! Perhaps...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bridgya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leitchfield, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Phenomenal and so easy! I followed the recipe but used yellow squash instead of zucchini (all I had) and add semisweet chocolate chips. Sooo good! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
It has a wonderful flavor! Next time I make it I am going to use 1/2 cup oil and 1/2 cup applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ML

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States