Lemon Yogurt Pound Cake with Lemon Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Ok... so I realize that this recipe was submitted by Crisco, so I feel a little abashed admitting that I used butter instead of shortening. I couldn't find any lemon yogurt, so I used the juice of one lemon and enough plain yogurt to make one cup. I made the glaze the consistency of elmer's glue and then waited until the cake was cool before drizzling it on because I wanted it to be visible. SO GOOD. YUM. Perfect moistness and perfect, not-too-sweet taste. Made it for our Bible study group on my husband's birthday - everyone just loved it. Goes super well with herbal tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merchantShip

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Armstrong, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Quito, Pichincha, Ecuador

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
sooo good, its not too sweet which is what i love, you can also control the sweetness of the outside by adding as much glaze as you want. I didn't add much glaze only about a third of it. MAde it twice so far. cooked it for 54 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
This was a very good cake and I will definitely make it again to see if it can be a real 5-star! I used the suggestion of half olive oil/ half butter in place of Crisco, and added in some poppy seeds. Also cut down the sugar a bit, which I won't do next time around. Definitely a keeper. It didn't take us to cloud 9, but maybe that was my fault not the recipe's. Still, I wouldn't hesitate to serve it for a tea or shower. (and LOVED the glaze!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loves2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2010
Light lemon flavor. I served plain and with strawberries and homemade whip cream. Delicious! The glaze is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
too heavy for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
EXCELLENT. EVEN BETTER THE NEXT DAY. LIGHT, REFRESHING. NEXT TIME I MAY TRY ORANGE INSTEAD OF LEMON. I WOULDN'T CHANGE ANYTHING, THO. THIS IS PERFECT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEYENNE
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Very easy to make. I didn't have lemon yogurt so substituted sour cream and fresh lemon juice. I too, tasted the crisco but I think that may be because I knew it was in there, no one else seemed to mind. I do think next time I will do butter/oil or applesauce, and maybe add an extra egg for a more pound cake texture. I do like the idea of another reviewer with trying different flavor yogurts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dada
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Great recipe!! I use 1/5 cup oil instead of Crisco, and it came out perfect!!! Very moist, and flavorful cake!! Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
slightly dry, yet delicious !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Made as written. Was very moist. The tangy glaze was the best part. I may try it again using butter to see if it turns out better. This was a lighter pound cake, I like mine to be more dense
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIENNEROSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make classic chocolate-chip cookies.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States