Lemon Yogurt Pound Cake with Lemon Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I used Greek yogurt + 1 T real lemon juice, as I've never seen a "lemon yogurt" at the store that doesn't have load of processing ingredients. Also used all butter rather than shortening, cut down [raw] sugar to 1 cup. Honey as a sub for the sugar would taste great in this recipe. I knew we'd like it lemony-er than the recipe sets this cake up to be, so I doubled the zest. Glad I did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I made this last night with whatever I had on hand. I made half the serving sizes here (6-8). I used half wheat flour/half cocount flour. I didn't have lemon yogurt so I subbed half of the yogurt with Noosa brand raspberry yogurt (amazing) and the other half no sugar greek yogurt. I also used brown sugar as I had no regular sugar on hand. I also didn't have any eggs so I used 4.5 tbsp of refrigerated egg whites and 1.5 tsp olive oil to sub. ALSO for the glaze since I didn't have any sugar I used as much Stevia as I had in the house (1/16 cup??) and added equal parts lemon juice. This was perfect actually, because any more glaze and it would have made this moist delicious cake TOO moist. I baked it for 50 minutes on 325 and it came out perfectly!! I must say I will make this next time I need to bring something to a party - not only was it super-easy, I was even able to make it with what I had on hand, which wasn't a lot as you can tell!! For the glaze, I added a little extra lemon zest to give it a little more zing. I juiced an extra half lemon into the batter because, personally, I knew it would help with the greek yogurt taste. I also added just a little extra vanilla extract for the same reason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
Love it, my mom went back for seconds ;) I used spelt flour, 1/2 cup butter, 1/2 cup coconut oil. Agave syrup instead of sugar, it was a big hit. Will keep this as one of my favorites ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
This was pretty easy to make. I did make some substitutions. I used unsalted butter instead of Crisco, used 6 oz. of lemon cream pie yogurt since the store didn't have lemon yogurt, and added 1/4 cup of fresh lemon juice. The glaze is really sweet and it soaked into the cake pretty well. It tastes better when it sits for a while to let the glaze settle and hardens and gives it a stronger lemon flavor. Received lots of compliments on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
This was tangy and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly Van Kirk Moran

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Logan, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Bellbrook, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Best textured and flavoured cake I've ever made and I've made a lot of cakes. Our daughter, who went to university in America, jumped to her feet as I brought the cake into the dinning room demanding to know if it was pound cake. I wasn't sure for a couple of seconds if I was doing the right thing or the wrong thing she was so straight faced. It was the right thing and the entire cake was gone within 24 hours. It is now our celebration cake. Thank you so much for sharing. I'm trotting it out to an invitation day on Sunday so that Australians can become acquainted with a pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Tasty cake, but mine turned out very short & dense. I guess I should have figured given it's a pound cake, but I was hoping for fluffy. I subbed 1/2 C butter and 1/2 C applesauce for Crisco. I added 1 tsp of lemon extract and used 12 oz yogurt, rather than 8. I continued to coat the cake with glaze for hours to ensure it soaked in. Tasty, but I'd probably look to try another recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
We love lemon so accumulate a lot of lemon breads and cakes. As written I have rated this a 4 but only because of the shortening taste. Suggest using 1/2 butter and you will see a big difference in texture and taste. Again, I only rate a cake as written because there is no point in rating something that has been totally changed. This is not fair to others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
I chose to use all butter, and then instead of lemon zest, I used 1 1/2 teaspoons of lemon extract. This had a very tender crumb. I plan on using this pound cake for a dessert that calls for lemon pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
I have made this pound cake several times, and Its great!! It lacks a little bit of lemon flavor, so I have added a teaspoon or so of lemon extract to the cake batter and it turns out great. Otherwise I'll follow the recipe as is. The best thing about this cake is the lemon glaze, so make sure to use fresh lemons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make classic chocolate-chip cookies.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States