Lemon Yogurt Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Light, sweet, moist and lemony! These are a nice little snack! Since I wanted to bring out more of that wonderful citrus flavor I used 2 Tbsp. of lemon zest and a full Tbsp. of real fresh squeezed lemon juice. As a personal preference I also cut way back on the spices using only a pinch of each. I baked these in a Texas sized muffin tin lined with paper liners so I got a half dozen really big muffins (no way would this yield a dozen). They took 20 minutes at 400. I poked holes on top with a toothpick while warm and poured a bit of glaze over top of each. The lemon glaze really gives these muffins a nice sheen and brings out even more of that great citrus flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2004
These were awesome. I used 1 c. of yogurt, and substituted with whole wheat flour. I also did not put any topping on them, and used all of the lemon zest and juice from a large lemon, and they were incredible. Great recipe! Will definitely become a regular at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
I thought the muffins were very good and moist. They took a little longer to cook then 18 min. Also I agree with others that I just got by with making 12, no way you can get 24 out of them. I added more zest and juice and a bit more sugar to make sure they weren't tart,( next time less sugar, wasn't needed) since I made them at my preschool with 6 3-5 yr. olds. THey were easy to make and were loved.But I was suprised that no one else said, that the spices over took the flavor. You really hardly could taste the lemon at all. Next time I'll try them without the 3 spices, and add van. and maybe more of the lemon ingrediants. We didn't put on the glaze(frosting) I made them again at my preschool and more then doubled the lemon juice and zest. I put in the original amount of sugar and left out ginger, cinn. and nutmeg. Everyone loved them, including me.I did put in vanalli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2004
A few minor alterations made this recipe more flavourful and fantastic. I used 1+1/2 tsp. lemon juice, and 2+1/2 tsp. grated zest. Insead of the icing, I made a sort of glaze with about 3-4Tbsp lemon juice and 1-3 Tbsp icing sugar. A bit runny at first, but it soaks in nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
Very good, sweet and moist. I agree that they're more like cupcakes than muffins. I used plain yogurt, but highly increased the lemon zest and juice, since we like things lemony. Very nice. They only make 1/2 the amount that it says they make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
Very easy to make and everyone loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blanchard, Oklahoma, USA
Photo by Tanaquil
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
This was a good muffin recipe---I subbed 1/2 tsp. pumpkin pie spice for the spices, and I didn't do the glaze on top, just sprinkled with pwdrd sugar. Thanks for the post! We enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
These were very yummy! I did add more lemon juice to the batter as I did not think they were "lemony"enough. Also could be because I used a "lemon cream pie" yogurt and did not make the icing. We still really like them. Also, you will only get 12 muffins for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veggiebee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Excellent! I didn't have any of the spices but I had fresh blueberries--and instead of plain or lemon yogurt, I had had vanilla yogurt on hand. Followed the rest of the recipe, but added a little more lemon. FANTASTIC.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
Everyone loved these- big hit. I cut way down on the spices, because I thought they would really overwhelm the lemon flavor- and I love lemon. I added more lemon juice and 1/2 tsp. lemon extract. I added more lemon juice to the glaze too. Have requests to make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States