Lemon Wow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2001
Really REALLY great! It needs icing, so I stirred a little lemon juice into about 1 cup of powdered sugar until I could drizzle it. This cake is adored by all I've served (and that's a lot!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2002
a nice lemon cake, but it doesn't have that lemon "zing," even after adding a lemon drizzle icing. had to bake it for 40-45 minutes, and turned out quite moist and nice. the tarragon is overpowered by the coconut pudding mix, as that's the taste that lingers on the palate. next time i'm going to try it with a lemon pudding mix instead, and possibly lemon cake mix as well. if you are looking for a mild lemon, "creamy" flavored cake, this would be it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2001
This cake is terrific! I loved the delicate texture, wonderful flavor, and ease of preparation. I put a simple glaze of powdered sugar, milk, and vanilla on top. It was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2003
Wonderful cake, although I did use a lemon cake mix. I also made a lemon glaze, adding a few drops of lemon oil and grated lemon peel into the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2001
I was planning a birthday party for my cousin and her friends and I decided to try this cake out. Needless to say that all the kids loved it and the parents of the others wanted to know the recipe! This one "takes the cake."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2001
Cool! Who would have thought that tarragon would work in cake? I love lemon cake, and I love this one the most.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
A great cake! I used a lemon cake mix and made a lemon glaze. My husband especially loved it and has requested it for his birthday cake. I can hardly wait to serve it again, I think it would be fantastic with either fresh sliced strawberries or a blueberry sauce and whipped cream. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELTAQUEEN50

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
WOW is right. I whipped up this gem for Family Easter this year and it was a huge hit. Grandma had 3 slices! I used both lemon cake mix and lemon pudding mix, and followed the suggestion of several other reviewers to double the tarragon. ALL good choices! The tarragon is refreshing and adds complexity, and is still subtle after doubling. I also glazed with a simple saucepan mix of butter, powdered sugar, and lemon juice. I poked holes on top so glaze could seep directly INto the cake, then spread any excess on top. The glaze added that TANG that I crave from a lemon cake. This cake single-handedly won me the title of Official Holiday Dessert Chef in our family. No easy feat! Thanks Julie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheInfamousNicoletta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2004
I absolutely loved it!! I will be serving this wonderful cake in my tea room. Thanks again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2001
Thanks for this different recipe! I took another reviewer's advice to make a lemon glaze and it was very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States