Lemon Wow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
My mother-in-law loved this cake! The coconut pudding and tarragon really brought out the smoothness of the cake. The lemon glaze was delicious too. A simple yet moist cake any lemon lover would enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Nandabear
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
Everyone in our family loved this cake. It took a little longer to bake though. I had to leave it for an additional 5 minutes. For anyone who may be concerned about the Tarragon, it was mild and did not overpower the cake at all. I made a glaze using 1 Cup of powdered sugar, 1/3 Cup lemon juice and 1/2 tsp. of lemon extract. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
Extremely moist cake with a great texture. More lemon-y than I thought it would be. I couldn't taste the tarragon, so am not really sure what it added, but I wouldn't omit it. It took about 50 minutes to bake in a bundt pan. Moist enough to be served alone, but I added a dollop of peach, mango, orange topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
A great cake! I used a lemon cake mix and made a lemon glaze. My husband especially loved it and has requested it for his birthday cake. I can hardly wait to serve it again, I think it would be fantastic with either fresh sliced strawberries or a blueberry sauce and whipped cream. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELTAQUEEN50

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
This is a fabulously unusual cake! I have made it with both the yellow cake mix as well as a lemon cake mix, and they are both delicious, depending on how much you like lemon. I generally use 1 1/2 t. of tarragon, because the lemon-tarragon combination is fantastic in this. This is one of my "stand-bys" for a short-notice dessert! WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
good cake but the bake time was way off for me, it needed a lot more bake time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
This cake turns out really good! I am not a baker and usually overcook everything. But this turned out fabulous, definitely recommend it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
We were in the mood for a cake that tasted grassy like and I remembered this recipe based on a previous review. Made this right up, took almost all of the oregano I had on hand, but it baked up beautifully. A real treat! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
This cake was so perfectly made for me and Juanita. Why, we sat down to frost it and ended up eating all of it. We could not find tarragon in our small grocery store, so we used oregano and it was delightful - kind of a grassy flavored cake, but nice none the less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Evelyn Paradies

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: East Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
Great taste. Not quite as lemony as I would like..that's why I only gave 4 stars but still delicious. VERY moist and fluffy. I used lemon cake mix instead of regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States