Lemon Wow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 29, 2009
I made this using lemon pudding and topped it off with a lemon icing made from powdered sugar, lemon juice, and lemon zest. It's one of my husband's favorites and he requests it almost every birthday :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sccrn123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
TASTES LIKE SPRING!!!! What a beautiful cake!! perfect for luncheons, brunches, any type of gathering!! Very simple and economical!! My store did not have the coconut pudding (shame, I loveeee coconut)- so i used vanilla pudding- I'm not a big user of tarragon, so I used thyme (would love to try this with lemon balm from my garden) - - I sprayed and sugared my cake pan- came out perfectly beautiful- It took longer for my oven- probably 45 mins- (new oven, but not convection-I just tested and added mins.)I did add a lemon glaze- could leave out herb, but it adds a whole different complex level to the cake- thanks for the recipe-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiser1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Definetly a 5 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
I would like to give it five stars, but once I made all the changes suggested by the earlier reviews, it was really a different cake. I used lemon pudding and lemon cake mix, and I added lemon jello. I didn't have tarragon, and didn't want to spend $5 on a jar of tarragon just for this recipe, so I omitted it. My cake was delicious, just the ticket for a Saturday snack with husband and son.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
Good cake! I upped the lemon and cut back on the soda after reading reviews - but not by much. The tarragon and coconut pudding give this cake something - but do not taste coconutty or tarragony to me. Interesting, without being weird. The texture is good - very moist. I did have to cook it 10 minutes longer than stated. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
WOW is right. I whipped up this gem for Family Easter this year and it was a huge hit. Grandma had 3 slices! I used both lemon cake mix and lemon pudding mix, and followed the suggestion of several other reviewers to double the tarragon. ALL good choices! The tarragon is refreshing and adds complexity, and is still subtle after doubling. I also glazed with a simple saucepan mix of butter, powdered sugar, and lemon juice. I poked holes on top so glaze could seep directly INto the cake, then spread any excess on top. The glaze added that TANG that I crave from a lemon cake. This cake single-handedly won me the title of Official Holiday Dessert Chef in our family. No easy feat! Thanks Julie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheInfamousNicoletta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
I didn't have a bundt pan so used a regular 9x13 and followed the recipe as written. It was awesome. I amde it a second time and added the glaze as others recommended. Perfecto! This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
I made this cake recently for a friend's birthday--it turned out great, but didn't keep well past the first day. I must say I was skeptical about the ingredients at first, but the tarragon adds a nice, sophisticated flavor. Since I wanted more than a hint of lemon in my cake, I used lemon cake mix and lemon Jello powder, and am very glad I did! The end result was NOT overpoweringly lemony--it was just right. I made a simple glaze out of lemon juice, water, and powdered sugar and drizzled it over the cake while it was still warm. I also floured the pan with regular sugar as recommended by other reviewers. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Lange

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Emporia, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Very yummy! Fixed this for Easter dinner and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Where do I start??!!! This is one that I did not take a photo of as it did not come our pretty, but WOW did it taste WONDERFUL! I used lemon flavored pudding and made powdered sugar lemon and lemon zest glaze for the top that just put the cake over the edge from just yum to HOLY COW! To make the glaze: In a saucepan, combine butter, 1/4 cup water and 1 cup sugar, 1tblspn lemon juice and the same for lemon zest. Bring to a boil and continue boiling for 5 minutes, stirring constantly. Remove the cake from the pan and knife while the cake is still a little warm insert the knife tip down and pour a little of the glaze into the slit, do this all over the cake then pour the remaining over the top and let cake continue to cool. It makes for a sticky desert, but is delicious to the last crumb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GrlzCn2
Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Marathon, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States