Lemon Thyme Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
This rice was very good & everyone at the table enjoyed it. The only modification made to the recipe was that I added in an extra tbs of butter when browning the rice. Enjoyed the nice subtle taste of lemon in with the rice...thanks for sharing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADZELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
This is a fantastic recipe. Reduce the thyme a bit otherwise add basil which is what I normally do. This rice has a great, light flavor to it and I make this frequently in my home. I like to add fresh cracked pepper to the top of mine just before serving. Be careful not to add too much lemon or it could ruin the recipe. I doubled this, recently, and took it to a barbeque and everyone wanted to know what the recipe was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
I think this is delicious when you use the original recipe amount of 1 tsp. of dried thyme or 1 T. of fresh thyme. I always use vegetable broth instead of chicken, since I am vegetarian. I added a little garlic to the butter, as well, and doubled the lemon juice. I have made this with brown rice and with a wild rice blend; both were excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
A great start. I also minced onions, sauted with garlic, and then used sticky rice. Added fresh thyme (retrieved from storage in freezer) and served with garish of green onion. Took the rice from the pot, used a small bowl and then inverted the rice, from the bowl onto the plate for a great restaurant-style presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Nice! Started off with browning some garlic with the butter. Also, added the thyme when the rice was halfway done, and the lemon almost at the end so that there's more flavor. Have made it repeatedly. Was very good with Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiren K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
Nice and easy,...make a great and quick side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
This was a decent recipe to compliment the chicken. Cooking it in a skillet makes reduces your cooking time and makes things much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa F.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
This recipe was good. Next time, I will use less thyme and more lemon. My husband and I enjoyed this recipe with mint chicken submitted by TXGIRLSX3. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
wow, WAY too much dry thyme! Should've read the reviews! I thought it was too much, so I didn't add near as much, but still too strong! 1 teaspoon probably would work, (or 1tblsp fresh as reviewed) It would probably be a good thing to modify this recipe page to clarify!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
I only used a TEASPOON of thyme, and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Persian Rice

See how to make an actual foolproof method for cooking perfect rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States