Lemon Thyme Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
Very nice twist on steamed rice to go with our grilled chicken. I seasoned it up a little more before serving with some garlic and onion powder. This was wonderful the next day with some grated Italian cheese blend and Italian seasoning stirred in. Love the lemon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
I think the key to this recipe is determining the right amount of lemon juice to add. Too little and you can't taste any lemon flavor; too much and it gives the rice an unpleasant sour taste. I've found that 3-4 tablespoons works best for me. I also prefer using fresh thyme rather than dried for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
I thought it was great. I made it as a sidedish to a heavily flavored chicken dish so the lite flavor was a perfect compliment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
This was ok. I read the reviews and only used 1 tsp. thyme. I couldn't really taste the lemon in this. It was easy to do though. I used brown rice, just increased cooking time to around 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
Very good and so simple to put together using ingredients I usually have on hand. We'll be making more of this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
I love this dish with fish. It is light not overpowering. Sometimes I use fresh sprigs of thyme. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Pearson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
Great recipe just put 1/2 teaspoon of thyme instead of a full tablespoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saucier, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
This was just OK for me...though that may be because I used basmati rice. I doubled the lemon & it still didn't have a very strong lemon flavor. I also decreased the thyme & increased the cook time since I was using basmati. I'll try this again using white rice & see if I don't like it better that way...thanks for letting me try it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
This tastes so good for the small amount of work required.... I just throw everything in the pot and stir, no harder than making regular white rice! The chicken broth & lemon flavor the rice so nicely and the thyme is perfect. I serve this with chicken and seafood dishes all the time as a side, it's always a hit. Doesnt do too bad reheated the next day with the leftovers, either! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
Smelled good, but tasted bad. The chicken broth was overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zombified

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Spicy Spanish-Style Rice

See how to make spicy Spanish-style rice, a terrific all-purpose side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States