Lemon Thyme Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
This was really good. I also added 1 tsp of onion powder, and only added about 3/4 tsp of dried thyme. I was almost out of lemon juice, so I used 1 Tbsp of lemon juice and 2 1/2 Tbsp of lime juice. Everyone loved it. My husband said it would be great with dill instead of thyme and served with fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
I really liked this. I made some changes other reviewers had made. 1 - I used more lemon juice - about 2.5 Tbsp (but I wasn't too exact with that). 2 - I used a random amount of thyme - just eyeballed it - and it was fresh thyme. 3 - I added a bit of garlic powder. This seemed to take a really long time to cook, but I think it was just my warped pan. Really tasty! I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bedford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
Made exactly as written, and the thyme is pretty overpowering. Still, we liked it. Will make again, but with half the thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
This rice was very good, but the thyme was just a little too strong for my liking. Next time I make it I'll either lessen the amount of thyme (maybe by 1/2) or just skip it altogether. Even so, it was still tasty and goes wonderfully with the Chicken with Lime Butter sauce recipe that can also be found on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah H.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pingree Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
I made this, but with a few adjustments. First, I used lime juice instead of lemon; secondly, I substituted cilantro for the thyme, because I am not big on thyme. Fantastic! Definitely will make this again! Also, this would make a great bast for a lot of the cold rice salads served so often in the summer! Yum-thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grandville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Colchester, Essex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
Terrific recipe with some slight modifications! I increased lemon to 3-4 tbl, reduced thyme to 1 tsp, added 1 tsp onion powder and some fresh garlic. My DH devoured everything left in the pan! I served it with salmon and the lemon was a great accompaniment. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYMAGICWORD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
Very tasty! Followed suggestion of other reviewers and used more lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
Very nice twist on steamed rice to go with our grilled chicken. I seasoned it up a little more before serving with some garlic and onion powder. This was wonderful the next day with some grated Italian cheese blend and Italian seasoning stirred in. Love the lemon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
I think the key to this recipe is determining the right amount of lemon juice to add. Too little and you can't taste any lemon flavor; too much and it gives the rice an unpleasant sour taste. I've found that 3-4 tablespoons works best for me. I also prefer using fresh thyme rather than dried for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
I thought it was great. I made it as a sidedish to a heavily flavored chicken dish so the lite flavor was a perfect compliment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Persian Rice

See how to make an actual foolproof method for cooking perfect rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States