Lemon Tabouli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
I love lots of lemon on mine, and I like a lot of parsley and fresh mint. I also add tomato and cucumber, as one reviewer suggested. Sometimes I make it with Israeli couscous. Occasionally, rice is nice, or an addition of lentils to whatever grain/pasta you are using. It's always good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Strongsville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
After reading the suggestions, I decreased the lemon zest to 1 lemon and increased the mint and parsley to 1/2 c. I also added three green onions and 1 c. tomatoes chopped. It went very well with the Carrots with dill butter and Almond topped fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Great base, but like many others, I added more parsley (2 heaping cups), mint (1 heaping cup), plus diced persian cucumbers and tomatoes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Palombo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by newyorknightingale
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
fresh and healthy and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newyorknightingale

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Summerside, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Photo by caravanmom
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
This was excellent after making some modifications. A used 1 1/4 Cups (uncooked) Couscous and increased the Parsley to 1 Cup. I also added 1 medium sized finely diced tomato and 1/2 of a medium sized chopped and seeded Cucumber and some chopped Green Onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caravanmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Homestead, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I was disapointed with this recipe. The flavors sound good but the instructions are off. I started making this at 4pm and it's now 5:40pm and the water has still not soaked into the bulgar. I've taken it to the microwave trying to save it but I think it's a goner. :( Normally the ratio of water to bulgar is 1 1/2 cups water to 1 cup bulgar and you boil water then add bulgar then simmer for 15 minutes. I'll do this next time if i try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Veggie

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
The ingredients are a good start; the proportions didn't seem right to me. For me, this dishes main ingredient should be parsley. So, 1 cup bulgur, 2 bunches parsley, 1/2 bunch mint. Next time I would do even less bulgur. LOTS of salt and pepper; pinches are NOT ENOUGH! With my changes is GREAT and would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
This recipe needs a LOT of modification to even resemble decent tabouli. It has way too much bulgar wheat, not nearly enough parsley, it doesn't say to rinse the bulgar, and if you add it all in w/ the boiling water you end up cooking your herbs. If you do make and modify it, add diced/seeded cucumbers and tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
Thanks, Twinkeroo, great suggestions! I increased parsley to 2 cups and added tomoto and cucumber. Also added some scallions. Used full about of lemon juice and zest and loved it! This was my first attempt at making my own tabouli and would recommend letting salad refrigerate overnight before serving to let flavors really come out. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
Having only tried tabouli at our Armenian restaurant, this was definitely NOT what I expected, having no tomatoes or onions and a minimal amount of parsley. It was quite tasty, though. Because of the other reviews of way too much lemon, I left out the zest and only used the juice. It wasn't lemony at all. It was really good, though and will be a nice addition to our summer salad recipe rotation. Next time, I'll add a few veggies (cucumbers, bell peppers, tomatoes, etc.) and more parsley and mint, but thanks for a yummy, different recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYDAWNE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mount Airy, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Lemon Berry Slushy

See how to make a chilly lemon and berry slushy.

Zesty Lemon Apple Juice

A light and refreshing juice with lemons, apples, and cucumber.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States